D. Scarlatti: Complete Sonatas, Vol. VII (Sonatas Kk. 270-317)

D. Scarlatti: Complete Sonatas, Vol. VII (Sonatas Kk. 270-317)
Composer Domenico Scarlatti
Artist Pieter-Jan Belder, harpichord
Format 3 CD
Cat. number 92772
EAN code 5028421927725
Release April 2006

Buy online

  • Buy at Amazon





  • Download at Spotify

Other buying options

About this release

Born in 1685, Scarlatti spent the majority of his career in the service of the Portuguese and Spanish royal families – with the latter appointment enabling him to devote his full attention towards composing for the harpsichord. This unusual cultural background accounts for why the Italian’s music, though contemporary with that of Bach and Handel, differs so much in comparison–Spanish dance rhythms (such as the flamenco), and folk tunes with Moorish and gypsy-like flavours, indicate that day-by-day-street life was a great source of inspiration to Scarlatti.

Written in single-movement form, the 555 works comprising the collection also reveal Scarlatti’s development of new playing techniques, including note repetitions and fast passages in parallel 3rds and 6ths, not to mention his important pioneering of structures – which in turn point to the impending emergence of the Classical style. They are performed with gusto by Pieter-Jan Belder, whose assured interpretation does full justice to this important body of late Baroque music.

Harpsichordist Pieter-Jan Belder needed seven years to record all of Scarlatti’s 555 sonatas for keyboard, but of course he succeded in this admireable task and the results are truly magnificent. This release is the seventh volume, containing the sonatas Nos. 270 - 317.

Track list

Disk 1

  1. K. 270 C Major No Tempo Indication
  2. K. 271 C Major Vivo
  3. K. 272 B-flat Major Allegro
  4. K. 273 B-flat Major Vivo
  5. K. 274 F Major Andante
  6. K. 275 F Major Allegro
  7. K. 276 F Major Allegro
  8. K. 277 D Major Cantabile Andantino
  9. K. 278 D Major Con Velocità
  10. K. 279 A Major Andante
  11. K. 280 A Major Allegro
  12. K. 281 D Major Andante
  13. K. 282 D Major Allegro, Andante Allegro
  14. K. 283 G Major Andante Allegro
  15. K. 284 G Major Allegro
  16. K. 285 A Major Allegro
  17. K. 286 A Major Allegro

Disk 2

  1. K. 287 D Major Andante Allegro. Per Organo
  2. K. 288 D Major Allegro (per Organo)
  3. K. 289 G Major Allegro
  4. K. 290 G Major Allegro
  5. K. 291 E Minor Andante
  6. K. 292 E Minor Allegro
  7. K. 293 B Minor Allegro
  8. K. 294 D Minor Andante
  9. K. 295 D Minor Allegro
  10. K. 296 F Major Andante
  11. K. 297 F Major Allegro
  12. K. 298 D Major Allegro
  13. K. 299 D Major Allegro
  14. K. 300 A Major Andante
  15. K. 301 A Major Allegro

Disk 3

  1. K. 302 C Minor Andante
  2. K. 303 C Minor Allegro
  3. K. 304 G Major Andante Cantabile
  4. K. 305 G Major Allegro
  5. K. 306 E Flat Major Allegro
  6. K. 307 E Flat Major Allegro
  7. K. 308 C Major Cantabile
  8. K. 309 C Major Allegro
  9. K. 310 B Flat Major Andante
  10. K. 311 B Flat Major Allegro
  11. K. 312 D Major Allegro
  12. K. 313 D Major Allegro
  13. K. 314 G Major Allegro
  14. K. 315 G Minor Allegro
  15. K. 316 F Major Allegro
  16. K. 317 F Major Allegro