D. Scarlatti: Complete Sonatas, Vol. VIII (Sonatas Kk. 318-371)

D. Scarlatti: Complete Sonatas, Vol. VIII (Sonatas Kk. 318-371)
Composer Domenico Scarlatti
Artist Pieter-Jan Belder harpsichord and fortepiano
Format 3 CD
Cat. number 93031
EAN code 5028421930312
Release April 2006

Buy online

  • Buy at Amazon





  • Download at Spotify
  •  Buy at iTunes

Other buying options

About this release

Born in 1685, Scarlatti spent the majority of his career in the service of the Portuguese and Spanish royal families – with the latter appointment enabling him to devote his full attention towards composing for the harpsichord. This unusual cultural background accounts for why the Italian’s music, though contemporary with that of Bach and Handel, differs so much in comparison–Spanish dance rhythms (such as the flamenco), and folk tunes with Moorish and gypsy-like flavours, indicate that day-by-day-street life was a great source of inspiration to Scarlatti.

Written in single-movement form, the 555 works comprising the collection also reveal Scarlatti’s development of new playing techniques, including note repetitions and fast passages in parallel 3rds and 6ths, not to mention his important pioneering of structures – which in turn point to the impending emergence of the Classical style. They are performed with gusto by Pieter-Jan Belder, whose assured interpretation does full justice to this important body of late Baroque music.

Harpsichordist Pieter-Jan Belder needed seven years to record all of Scarlatti’s 555 sonatas for keyboard, but of course he succeded in this admireable task and the results are truly magnificent. This release is the fourth volume, containing the sonatas Nos. 318 - 371.

Track list

Disk 1

  1. K. 318 in F-Sharp Major Andante
  2. K. 319 in F-Sharp Major Allegro
  3. K. 320 in A Major Allegro
  4. K. 321 in A Major Allegro
  5. K. 322 in A Major Allegro
  6. K. 323 in A Major Allegro
  7. K. 324 in G Major Andante
  8. K. 325 in G Major Allegro
  9. K. 326 in C Major Allegro
  10. K. 327 in C Major Allegro
  11. K. 328 in G Major Andante comodo (organ)
  12. K. 329 in C Major Allegro
  13. K. 330 in C Major Allegro
  14. K. 331 in B-Flat Major Andante
  15. K. 332 in B-Flat Major Allegro
  16. K. 333 in D Major Allegro
  17. K. 334 in B-Flat Major Allegro
  18. K. 335 in D Major Allegro
  19. K. 336 in D Major Allegro
  20. K. 337 in G Major Allegro
  21. K. 338 in G Major Allegro

Disk 2

  1. K. 339 in C Major Allegro
  2. K. 340 in C Major Allegro
  3. K. 341 in A Minor Allegro
  4. K. 342 in A Major Allegro
  5. K. 343 in A Major Allegro Andante
  6. K. 344 in A Major Allegro
  7. K. 345 in D Major Allegro
  8. K. 346 in D Major Allegro
  9. K. 347 in G Minor Moderato e cantabile
  10. K. 348 in G Major Prestissimo
  11. K. 349 in F Major Allegro
  12. K. 350 in F Major Allegro
  13. K. 351 in B-Flat Major Andante/Allegrissimo .3’25
  14. K. 352 in D Major Allegro
  15. K. 353 in D Major Allegro
  16. K. 354 in F Major Andante
  17. K. 355 in F Major Allegro

Disk 3

  1. K. 356 in C Major Con spirito andante
  2. K. 357 in C Major Allegro
  3. K. 358 in D Major Allegro
  4. K. 359 in D Major Allegrissimo
  5. K. 360 in B-Flat Major Allegro
  6. K. 361 in B-Flat Major Allegrissimo
  7. K. 362 in C Minor Allegro
  8. K. 363 in C Minor Presto
  9. K. 364 in F Minor Allegro
  10. K. 365 in F Minor Allegro
  11. K. 366 in F Major Allegro
  12. K. 367 in F Major Presto
  13. K. 368 in A Major Allegro
  14. K. 369 in A Major Allegro
  15. K. 370 in E-Flat Major Allegro
  16. K. 371 in E-Flat Major Allegro