Liszt & Debussy & Brahms: A portret of Tamas Vasary

Liszt & Debussy & Brahms: A portret of Tamas Vasary
Composer Claude Debussy, Franz Liszt, Johannes Brahms
Artist Tamás Vásáry piano
Format 4 CD
Cat. number 93900
EAN code 5028421939001
Release June 2009

Buy online

  • Buy at Amazon




Other buying options

About this release

In 1962 Stephen Plaistow wrote of the Liszt E flat Polonaise on this set that ‘the playing of the E major Polonaise is outstanding: it has bravura, exquisite timing and poise, colour, delicacy, plenty of rhythmic character and an air of ebullient pomp that is quite irresistible.’ You might expect such ebullience from Vásáry in the music of his fellow-countryman Liszt, especially given his reputatation, cultivated and strengthened over decades, of specialism in a composer whose refined and elusive idiom requires such immersive study to escape the confines of virtuosity and even approach the expressive heart of the novel structures and evanescent textures exhibited by the B minor Sonata and the Légende No.2, of St Francis walking on the water. Such qualities will likely make a fine Debussyan of a pianist, too, and so, we may be unsurprised to learn, from the pages of Gramophone again, that the Suite bergamasque has ‘the right blend of chaste gravity and sensuous charm’ and Clair de lune ‘is a model of style’.

What may come as more of a surprise to those unaware of Vásáry’s eminence over half a century now as pianist, conductor and more importantly musician, is the vigorous authority of his Brahms, ideally set off here by the stamping energy of the two comparatively early variation sets of Op.21, the Op.35 Variations and the more heartfelt Klavierstücke Op.76. These recordings are from much later, the digital era indeed, but they reflect the promise felt by Stephen Plaistow, in 1967 this time, that ‘As one listens to his playing one senses at all times the intelligence and taste that lie behind it. The future of fine piano-playing seems assured while there are young pianists like him and Vladimir Ashkenazy around with maybe 40 years of playing ahead of them: a splendid thought!

Other information:
- Classic recordings of Romantic piano literature.
- Original booklet notes included.

Track list

Disk 1

  1. Hungarian Rhapsody, S. 244 No. 6 in D-Flat
  2. Valse Impromptu
  3. Consolation, S. 172 No. 2 in E.: Un poco più mosso
  4. Consolation, S. 172 No. 3 in D-Flat: Lento, placido
  5. Concert Paraphrase On Rigoletto, S. 434, After Verdi’s Opera
  6. Grande Étude De Paganini, S. 141 No. 3 in G Sharp-Minor, ’La Campanella’
  7. Hungarian Rhapsody, S. 244 No. 15 in A Minor ’Rákóczy March’
  8. Légende, S. 175 No. 2: St. Francis De Paule Walking On The Water
  9. Études d’Exécution Transcendante D’Après Pagannini, S. 140 No. 2 Octaves

Disk 2

  1. Piano Sonata in B Minor
  2. Polonaise No. 2 in E
  3. ’Don Juan’ Fantasy

Disk 3

  1. Variations On An Original Theme in D, Op. 21 No. 1
  2. Variations on a Hungarian song in D, Op. 21 No. 2
  3. Variations On a Theme by Paganini, Op. 35: Book 1: Thema. Variations I-XIV
  4. Variations On a Theme by Paganini, Op. 35: Book 2: Variation XIII: Un poco più andante
  5. Klavierstück, Op. 76 No. 1: Capriccio in F-Sharp Minor
  6. Klavierstück, Op. 76 No. 2: Capriccio in B Minor
  7. Klavierstück, Op. 76 No. 3: Intermezzo in A-Flat
  8. Klavierstück, Op. 76 No. 4: Intermezzo in B-Flat
  9. Klavierstück, Op. 76 No. 5: Capriccio in C-Sharp Minor
  10. Klavierstück, Op. 76 No. 6: Intermezzo in A
  11. Klavierstück, Op. 76 No. 7: Intermezzo in A Minor
  12. Klavierstück, Op. 76 No. 8: Capriccio in C

Disk 4

  1. Suite Bergamasque: Prélude: Moderato
  2. Suite Bergamasque: Menuet: Andantino
  3. Suite Bergamasque: Clair de lune: Andante très expressif
  4. Suite Bergamasque: Passepied: Allegretto ma non troppo
  5. Danse (Tarentelle Styrienne): Allegretto
  6. Deux Arabesques: Andantino con moto
  7. Deux Arabesques: Allegretto Scherzando
  8. Pour Le Piano: Prélude: Allez animé et très rythmé
  9. Pour Le Piano: Sarabande: Avec une élégance grave et lente
  10. Pour Le Piano: Toccata: vif
  11. La Plus Que Lente (Valse)
  12. L’Isle Joyeuse (Modéré et très souple)
  13. Masques (Très vif et fantasque)