Nocturne, Romantic Guitar Miniatures

Nocturne, Romantic Guitar Miniatures
Composer Various Composers
Artist Flavio Apro guitar
Format 1 CD
Cat. number 94875
EAN code 5028421948751
Release December 2014

Buy online

  • Buy at Amazon





  • Download at Spotify
  •  Buy at iTunes

Other buying options

About this release

Nocturne is a unique concept album of romantic and meditative guitar music, with works selected and performed by acclaimed Brazilian guitarist Flávio Apro. Also an accomplished teacher, producer, researcher and arranger, Apro studied guitar with Monina Távora – who in turn was a student of the legendary guitarist Andrès Segovia. Távora, who died in August 2011, had a profound influence on Flávio Apro, who says “her teaching changed the way I thought about music forever”. Nocturne is a fitting and poignant tribute to this inspirational teacher. Apro has compiled the works here into what he calls the Nocturne Suite – a cleverly thought‐out succession that fosters contemplative listening. The keys of each piece follow on from each other according to the notes of the scale, while the alternating tempi of the works, with fluidity interspersed with moments of rest, encourage a truly appreciative sense of time. Apro describes this recording as his “gift” to Monina Távora: the recording showcases the profound understanding of music that she has passed on to him, and which he in turn is passing on to you, the listener. 

This selection of guitar miniatures brings us to Mediterranean landscapes under moonlit night skies: works by De Falla, Mompou, Ponce, Castelnuovo‐Tedesco, Barrios, Llobet, Tarrega, Sor, Rodrigo and others, in which the colours, tastes, folkore and general joie de vivre of Italy and Spain are perfectly captured. Excellently played by composer and guitarist Flávio Apro, descendant in the line of the great Andres Segovia.

Booklet features liner notes and artist biography (written by Flávio Apro) in English and German. 

Track list

Disk 1

  1. Sonata No. 3: I. Allegro moderato
  2. Sonata No. 3: II. Chanson
  3. Sonata No. 3: III. Allegro non troppo
  4. Homenaje ‘Le Tombeau de Claude Debussy’
  5. Portrait
  6. In Memorian
  7. Pavana Triste
  8. Campane a Valle
  9. Recitativo
  10. Prelude in G Minor
  11. El Mestre
  12. Prelude in A Major
  13. Tombeau sur le mort de M. Comte de Logy
  14. Largo non tanto
  15. Kolysanka
  16. Zarabanda lejana

On Youtube