Goldstein: Cyclorama

Goldstein: Cyclorama
Composer Jonathan Goldstein
Artist James Pearson piano
Grace Davidson soprano
The Balanescu Quartet and Ensemble
Jonathan Goldstein conductor
Format 1 CD
Cat. number 9278
EAN code 5029365927826
Release October 2012

Buy online

  • Buy at Amazon




Download & streams

  • Download at Spotify
  •  Buy at iTunes

Other buying options

About this release

Jonathan Goldstein is an award-winning composer of music for film, TV and advertising. This is his first album, of instrumental ‘songs’ covering a wide range of moods and orchestrations. The album is a mix of contemporary classical idioms which gradually present an unfolding story, like a cyclorama (the panoramic backdrop used in film & theatre), and was recorded at the Church of Saint Jude-on-the-Hill, Hampstead Garden Suburb, London, noted for its haunting acoustics. This album is sure to gain radio play and a wide following among fans of accessible contemporary music and crossover.

Goldstein began his career as a Music Director at the Royal Shakespeare Company after which time he assisted the legendary film music orchestrator, Christopher Palmer, on the soundtrack for Cape Fear and the re-recording of Bernard Herrmann’s classic score for Taxi Driver, conducted by Elmer Bernstein.

Among the performers are the distinguished Balanescu Quartet and an ensemble of distinguished soloists including James Pearson, a soloist with the Hallé, Philharmonia and BBC Concert Orchestras, and Artistic Director of jazz club, Ronnie Scott’s, London, whose collaborations include Paul McCartney and Wynton Marsalis. Also appearing is the internationally acclaimed soprano, Grace Davidson, who has performed with the leading Early Music groups, The Sixteen, and Tenebrae, as well as on soundtracks such as Hans Zimmer’s Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides.

Other information:
- Goldstein’s music is highly evocative, melodious and atmospheric, using elements from minimal music and folk music.
- On this new album of Jonathan Goldstein, the famous Balanescu Quartet is the centre of the ensemble, and is occasionally enlarged by pianos, saxophone, harp, percussion, flute, flugelhorn, soprano and organ, creating an incredible range of instrumental colours and sonorities.
- "all those who value fine musicianship will find much pleasurable listening on this concise and often haunting album" (Gramophone).

Track list

Disk 1

  1. Reverie
  2. Notturno
  3. Everywhere
  4. Cras amet
  5. Crystals
  6. Elegy
  7. Etude for cello I
  8. Etude for cello II
  9. Frozen ground
  10. Frozen night
  11. Memento mori
  12. Diurno
  13. Lavinia’s Lament
  14. Pavane
  15. Prelude fpr piano and strings
  16. Prisoner’s tale
  17. Threnody (Part 1)
  18. Threnody (Part 2)
  19. Valse macabre
  20. Where the bee sucks

On Youtube

"Error parsing XSLT file: GetRecommendedReleases.xslt