Martinu: Complete Symphonies

Martinu: Complete Symphonies
Composer Bohuslav Martinu
Artist Bamberg Symphony Orchestra
Neeme Järvi conductor
Format 3 CD
Cat. number 8950
EAN code 5029365895026
Release April 2006

Buy online

  • Buy at Amazon




Other buying options

About this release

As with all enormously prolific composers, Martinu’s works are uneven in quality; but his symphonies are generally held among
the outstanding 20th-century examples of the genre.

All six were written in the USA, the first five in consecutive years from 1942 – the shadow of war can be heard in several march-like movements – but they frequently reveal the composer’s Czech origins, particularly in the stirring slow movements which become darker and more probing as the cycle progresses.
The textures and rhythms have a percussive energy that derives both from his formative years of study in Paris in the 1920s and
from the prominent use of a piano within the orchestra.

Track list

Disk 1

  1. Symphony No.2: I. Moderato
  2. Symphony No.2: II. Allegro
  3. Symphony No.2: III. Largo
  4. Symphony No.2: IV. Allegro Non troppo
  5. Symphony No.1: I. Allegro Moderato
  6. Symphony No.1: II. Andante Moderato
  7. Symphony No.1: III. Poco allegro
  8. Symphony No.1: IV. Allegro

Disk 2

  1. Symphony No.4: I. Allegro poco Moderato
  2. Symphony No.4: II. Largo
  3. Symphony No.4: III. Allegro – Andante
  4. Symphony No.3: I. Poco Moderato
  5. Symphony No.3: II. Allegro viVo
  6. Symphony No.3: III. Largo
  7. Symphony No.3: IV. Poco allegro

Disk 3

  1. Symphony No.6 ‘Fantaisies symphoniques’: I. Adagio – Allegro
  2. Symphony No.6 ‘Fantaisies symphoniques’: II. Larghetto
  3. Symphony No.6 ‘Fantaisies symphoniques’: III. Lento – Allegro
  4. Symphony No.5: I. Lento – Allegro
  5. Symphony No.5: II. Poco allegro
  6. Symphony No.5: III. Lento