Tallis: Complete Choral Works

Composer Thomas Tallis
Artist Chapelle Du Roi
Alistair Dixon conductor
Format 10 CD, CD-ROM
Cat. number 94268
EAN code 5028421942681
Release October 2011

Buy online

  • Buy at Amazon

Download & streams

  • Download at Spotify
  •  Buy at iTunes

Other buying options

About this release

The career of Thomas Tallis, an organist, composer and Gentleman of the Chapel Royal, spanned the reign of four English monarchs, Henry VIII, Edward VI, Queen Mary and Queen Elizabeth I, as well as the significant religious and musical changes brought about by the Reformation and creation of the Anglican Church. Despite working during an era of religious turbulence, Tallis remained a celebrated composer throughout his lifetime, adapting his compositions to meet the changing expectations placed on church musicians by each monarch.

This 10-CD collection of Tallis’ complete works illustrates the composer’s versatility and response to the musical climate of his era. In addition to well-known landmark works such as his Gaude gloriosa Dei Mater, Lamentations and the 40-voice Spem in alium, included in this set are the more obscure secular songs and instrumental works.

Other information:
- CD-ROM with notes and texts.
- Includes a number of obscure and previously unrecorded secular works.

Track list

Disk 1

  1. Ave Dei patris filia
  2. Ave rosa sine spinis
  3. Alleluia: Ora pro nobis
  4. Euge coeli porta
  5. Kyrie: Deus creator
  6. Mass: Salve Intemerata: Gloria
  7. Mass: Salve Intemerata: Credo
  8. Mass: Salve Intemerata: Sanctus & Benedictus
  9. Mass: Salve Intemerata: Agnus Dei
  10. Salve intemerata

Disk 2

  1. Magnificat
  2. Nunc dimittis
  3. Sancte Deus
  4. Conditor Kyrie
  5. Mass for four voices: Gloria
  6. Mass for four voices: Credo
  7. Mass for four voices: Sanctus
  8. Mass for four voices: Benedictus
  9. Mass for four voices: Agnus Dei
  10. Remember not, O Lord God
  11. Hear the voice and prayer
  12. If ye love me
  13. A new commandment
  14. Benedictus
  15. Te Deum for meanes

Disk 3

  1. Beati immaculati
  2. Introit: Puer natus est nobis
  3. Kyrie: Deus Creator
  4. Mass: Puer natus est nobis: Gloria
  5. Mass: Puer natus est nobis: Gradual: Viderunt omnes
  6. Mass: Puer natus est nobis: Alleluia: Dies sanctificus
  7. Mass: Puer natus est nobis: Sequence: Celeste organum
  8. Mass: Puer natus est nobis: Sanctus
  9. Mass: Puer natus est nobis: Benedictus
  10. Mass: Puer natus est nobis: Agnus Dei
  11. Communion: Viderunt omnes
  12. Suscipe quaeso
  13. Gaude gloriosa

Disk 4

  1. Hodie nobis caelorum
  2. Salvator mundi
  3. Quod chorus vatum
  4. Videte miraculum
  5. In pace in idipsum
  6. Dum transisset sabbatum
  7. Jesu salvator saeculi
  8. Sermone blando
  9. Jam Christus astra ascenderat
  10. Loquebantur variis linguis
  11. Magnificat

Disk 5

  1. Audivi vocem de coelo
  2. Candidi facti sunt
  3. Honor virtus et potestas
  4. Homo quidam fecit coenam
  5. Te lucis ante terminum (ferial)
  6. Te lucis ante terminum (festal)
  7. Natus est nobis hodie
  8. Veni redemptor genitum
  9. Jam lucis orto sidere
  10. Ecce tempus idoneum
  11. Ex more docti mistico
  12. Clarifica me pater
  13. Clarifica me pater (II)
  14. Clarifica me pater (III)
  15. Gloria tibi trinitas
  16. 1ste confessor
  17. Alleluia: per te Dei genitrix
  18. Felix namque (II)

Disk 6

  1. Christ rising again from the dead
  2. Preces (1st set)
  3. Venite
  4. Te Deum
  5. Benedictus
  6. Responses and collects for Easter Matins
  7. Commandments
  8. Credo
  9. Offertory sentence
  10. Sanctus
  11. Gloria
  12. Preces (2nd set)
  13. Wherewithal shall a young man
  14. O do well unto thy servant
  15. My soul cleaveth to the dust
  16. Magnificat
  17. Nunc dimittis
  18. Responses and collects for Christmas Eve evensong
  19. O Lord, give thy Holy Spirit
  20. Purge me, O Lord
  21. Verily, verily I say unto you
  22. Remember not, O Lord God
  23. O Lord, in thee is all my trust
  24. Out from the deep
  25. Tunes for Archbishop Parker’s Psalter: Man blest no doubt
  26. Tunes for Archbishop Parker’s Psalter: Let God arise in majesty
  27. Tunes for Archbishop Parker’s Psalter: Why fum’th in fight
  28. Tunes for Archbishop Parker’s Psalter: O come in one to praise the Lord
  29. Tunes for Archbishop Parker’s Psalter: E’en like the hunted hind
  30. Tunes for Archbishop Parker’s Psalter: Expend, O Lord, my plaint
  31. Tunes for Archbishop Parker’s Psalter: Why brag’st in malice high
  32. Tunes for Archbishop Parker’s Psalter: God grant with grace
  33. Tunes for Archbishop Parker’s Psalter: Ordinal

Disk 7

  1. Salvator mundi I
  2. O sacrum convivium
  3. In manus tuas
  4. O nata lux de lumine
  5. Absterge Domine
  6. Discomfort them O Lord
  7. Domine, quis habitabit
  8. Laudate Dominum
  9. Miserere nostri
  10. Salvator mundi II
  11. Mihi autem nimis
  12. O salutaris hostia
  13. In ieiunio et fletu (Low)
  14. In ieiunio et fletu (High)
  15. Derelinquat impius
  16. Spem in alium

Disk 8

  1. Lamentations of Jeremiah I
  2. Lamentations of Jeremiah II
  3. Wipe away my Sins
  4. Forgive me, Lord, my sin
  5. Blessed are those that be undefiled
  6. Arise, O Lord, and hear
  7. With all our hearts
  8. I call and cry to thee
  9. O sacred and holy banquet
  10. When Jesus went into Simon the Pharisee’s house
  11. Blessed be thy name
  12. O Praise the Lord II
  13. Sing and glorify heaven’s high majesty

Disk 9

  1. In nomine I (a)
  2. In nomine II (a)
  3. A Solfing Song (a)
  4. Salvator Mundi (trio) (a)
  5. Fantasia (a)
  6. Felix namque II (b)
  7. Felix namque I (c)
  8. When shall my sorrowful sighing slack (d)
  9. Like as the doleful dove (d)
  10. O ye tender babes (c)
  11. Purge me, O Lord (d)
  12. Per haec nos (c)
  13. A Point (c)
  14. Lesson: two partes in one (d)
  15. Remember not, O Lord God (d)
  16. Per haec nos (e)
  17. A Point (e)
  18. Lesson: two partes in one (e)
  19. Tu nimirum (b,f)
  20. When shall my sorrowful sighing slack (b,f)
  21. Like as the doleful dove (b,f)
  22. O ye tender babes (b,f)
  23. Ye sacred muses (Byrd) (a,f)

Disk 10

  1. Litany
  2. Verset I
  3. Verset II
  4. Felix namque I