Bartók: String Quartets

Bartók: String Quartets
Composer Béla Bartók
Artist Rubin Quartet:
Irmgard Zavelberg violin I
Tinta Schmidt von Altenstadt violin II
Sylvie Altenburger viola
Ulrike Zavelberg cello
Format 2 CD
Cat. number 6901
EAN code 5029365690126
Release January 2009

Buy online

  • Buy at Amazon




Download & streams

  • Download at Spotify

Other buying options

About this release

Complete Reactions to the overwhelming influence of Wagner towards the end of the 19-th century demanded a radical change in musical style, form and content. In France, the Impressionists created a new feeling of sensibility of orchestral palette, in Vienna, Schoenberg and his followers developed a system which abandoned conventional tonality. In Hungary, the nationalist Bela Bartok integrated the influence of native folk music tunes and rhythms way beyond anything previously attempted, thus creating a highly complex and personal style.

Bartok became one of the most influential composers of the 20-th century, and his String Quartets represent the summit of his art. The six quartets show his development from late romantic to experimentalist, expressing everything he had to say in melodic, rhythmical and structural sense. The quartets became cornerstones of the literature, and form a huge challenge to every selfrespecting quartet to perform. The Rubin Quartet occupied themselves for years with these masterpieces, studying and analysing them to the bone, and presenting here a superb recording!

Another gem in the rich String Quartet repertoire of Brilliant Classics.

Track list

Disk 1

  1. String Quartet No. 1, Op. 7: Lento
  2. String Quartet No. 1, Op. 7: Allegretto
  3. String Quartet No. 1, Op. 7: Introduzione (allegro) - allegro vivace
  4. String Quartet No. 2, Op. 17: Moderato
  5. String Quartet No. 2, Op. 17: Allegro
  6. String Quartet No. 2, Op. 17: Lento
  7. String Quartet No. 4: Allegro
  8. String Quartet No. 4: Prestissimo con sordino
  9. String Quartet No. 4: Non troppo lento
  10. String Quartet No. 4: Allegretto
  11. String Quartet No. 4: Allegro molto

Disk 2

  1. String Quartet No. 3: Prima parte: Moderato
  2. String Quartet No. 3: Seconda parte: Allegro
  3. String Quartet No. 3: Ricapitulazione della prima parte: Moderato - allegro molto
  4. String Quartet No. 5: Allegro
  5. String Quartet No. 5: Adagio molto
  6. String Quartet No. 5: Scherzo, alla Bulgarese
  7. String Quartet No. 5: Andante
  8. String Quartet No. 5: Finale, allegro vivace 7
  9. String Quartet No. 6: Mesto, vivace
  10. String Quartet No. 6: Mesto, Marcia
  11. String Quartet No. 6: Mesto, Burletta
  12. String Quartet No. 6: Mesto