Couperin: Concerts Royaux - Les Goûts-Réunis

Couperin: Concerts Royaux - Les Goûts-Réunis
Composer François Couperin
Artist Musica Ad Rhenum
Jed Wentz transverse flute & concert master
Format 3 CD
Cat. number 94489
EAN code 5028421944890
Release February 2013

Buy online

  • Buy at Amazon




Download & streams

  • Download at Spotify
  •  Buy at iTunes

Other buying options

About this release

François Couperin ‘Le Grand’ is the most important member of the Couperin dynasty, whose elegant and trend-setting music is known to have influenced great composers such as J.S. Bach, Telemann and Handel. After becoming organist at St. Gervais in Paris at the age of just 12, he was later appointed Organiste du Chapelle du Roy.

It was here that he composed the Concerts Royaux and the Gouts-Réunis (or Nouveaux Concerts) for the entertainment of the aging King Louis XIV. Each includes the florid ornamentation typical of the French Baroque and is extremely adaptable, essentially written for a treble and bass instrument and continuo. They appeared in the same volume as Couperin’s third harpsichord book, and the writing of several has a strong harpsichord feel, suggesting that solo performance on this instrument was also a possibility. The fourteen Concerts vary in style, containing elements of both the French and Italian tradition, but all are testament to the sophistication and decadence of Versailles in the 18th century. The Eighth Concert ‘dans le goût théâtral’ is undoubtedly a highlight: a tribute to Jean-Baptiste Lully, beginning with an opulent French overture and ‘Grand Ritournelle’ and continuing with eight further varied movements.

The Concerts are brought to you by Jed Wentz’s Musica Ad Rhenum, which has earned a dedicated following in early music circles. With an active concert life and an impressive catalogue of recordings, this group has sought to bring Baroque music to the modern world, proving that it is as inspiring and relevant today as it was in its own era.

Other information:
Period-instrument recording, made in 2004 (The Netherlands).
The performances of Musica ad Rhenum and Jed Wentz are in the best tradition of the Historically Informed Practice, lively, quasi-improvisatory and with swift but flexible tempi.
Contains notes on the composer as well as artist/ensemble biographies.

Track list

Disk 1

  1. Premier Concert: Prélude Gravement
  2. Premier Concert: Allemande Legerement
  3. Premier Concert: Sarabande mesuré
  4. Premier Concert: Gavotte notes égales et coulées
  5. Premier Concert: Gigue Légérement
  6. Premier Concert: Menuet en Trio
  7. Second Concert: Prélude gracieusement
  8. Second Concert: Allemande Fuguée gayement
  9. Second Concert: Air Tendre
  10. Second Concert: Air Contre fugué vivement
  11. Second Concert: Échos Tendrement
  12. Troisiême Concert: Prélude Lentement
  13. Troisiême Concert: Allemande Légérement
  14. Troisiême Concert: Courante
  15. Troisiême Concert: Sarabande grave
  16. Troisiême Concert: Gavotte
  17. Troisiême Concert: Muzette naïvement
  18. Troisiême Concert: Chaconne Legere
  19. Quatriéme Concert: Prélude gravement
  20. Quatriéme Concert: Allemande Legerement
  21. Quatriéme Concert: Courante Françoise galament
  22. Quatriéme Concert: Courante a L’italiéne Pointé-coulé gayement
  23. Quatriéme Concert: Sarabande tres tendrement
  24. Quatriéme Concert: Rigaudon Légérement, et marqué
  25. Quatriéme Concert: Forlane Rondeau gayement

Disk 2

  1. Cinquiéme Concert: Prélude Gracieusement
  2. Cinquiéme Concert: Allemande gayëment, et les croches égales
  3. Cinquiéme Concert: Sarabande Grave
  4. Cinquiéme Concert: Gavote Coulãment, et les croches égales
  5. Cinquiéme Concert: Muséte dans le goût de Carillon
  6. Sixiéme Concert: gravem.t et mesuré
  7. Sixiéme Concert: Allemande à 4. tems Légers vivement, et les croches égales et marquées
  8. Sixiéme Concert: Sarabande Mesurée Noblement
  9. Sixiéme Concert: Air de Diable Tres viste
  10. Sixiéme Concert: Siciliéne Tendrem.t et Loûré
  11. Septiéme Concert: Gravement, et gracieusement
  12. Septiéme Concert: Allemande Gayement
  13. Septiéme Concert: Sarabande Grave
  14. Septiéme Concert: Fuguéte Légérement
  15. Septiéme Concert: Gavote Gayement
  16. Septiéme Concert: Siciliéne [Tendrement et louré]
  17. Huitiéme Concert dans le goût Théatral: Ouverture
  18. Huitiéme Concert dans le goût Théatral: Grande Ritournéle Gravement
  19. Huitiéme Concert dans le goût Théatral: Air Noblement
  20. Huitiéme Concert dans le goût Théatral: Air Tendre
  21. Huitiéme Concert dans le goût Théatral: Air Léger
  22. Huitiéme Concert dans le goût Théatral: Loure pesament
  23. Huitiéme Concert dans le goût Théatral: Air animé, et léger
  24. Huitiéme Concert dans le goût Théatral: Sarabande grave, et Tendre
  25. Huitiéme Concert dans le goût Théatral: Air Léger
  26. Huitiéme Concert dans le goût Théatral: Air Tendre Lentement
  27. Huitiéme Concert dans le goût Théatral: Air de Baccantes tres animé

Disk 3

  1. Neuvième Concert, intitulé ‘Ritratto dell’amore’: I. Le Charme: Gracieusement et gravement
  2. Neuvième Concert, intitulé ‘Ritratto dell’amore’: II. L’Enjouement: Gayement
  3. Neuvième Concert, intitulé ‘Ritratto dell’amore’: III. Les Grâces: Courante française
  4. Neuvième Concert, intitulé ‘Ritratto dell’amore’: IV. Le-je-ne-sçay-quoy: Gayement
  5. Neuvième Concert, intitulé ‘Ritratto dell’amore’: V. La Vivacité
  6. Neuvième Concert, intitulé ‘Ritratto dell’amore’: VI. La Noble Fierté. Sarabande : Gravement
  7. Neuvième Concert, intitulé ‘Ritratto dell’amore’: VII. La Douceur: Amoureusement
  8. Neuvième Concert, intitulé ‘Ritratto dell’amore’: VIII. L’Et Coetera ou Menuets
  9. Dixième Concert: I. Gravement et mesuré
  10. Dixième Concert: II. Air Tendre et Louré sans lenteur
  11. Dixième Concert: III. Plainte, pour les violes ou autres instruments a l’unisson: Lentement, et douloureusement – Seconde partie plus légèrement et coulé
  12. Dixième Concert: IV. La Tromba : Légèrement
  13. Onzième concert: I. Majestueusement, sans trop de lenteur
  14. Onzième concert: II. Allemande : Fièrement, sans lenteur
  15. Onzième concert: III. Seconde-Allemande : Plus légère
  16. Onzième concert: IV. Courante
  17. Onzième concert: V. Deuxième Courante majeur
  18. Onzième concert: VI. Sarabande très grave, et très marquée
  19. Onzième concert: VII. Gigue : Lourée
  20. Onzième concert: VIII. Rondeau : Légèrement et galamment
  21. Douzième concert: I. Pointé-coulé
  22. Douzième concert: II. Badinage
  23. Douzième concert: III. Lentement et pathétiquement
  24. Douzième concert: VI. Air gracieusement, et légèrement
  25. Treizième concert: I. Vivement
  26. Treizième concert: II. Air : Agréablement
  27. Treizième concert: III. Sarabande : Tendrement
  28. Treizième concert: IV. Chaconne Légère
  29. Quatorzième concert: I. Gravement
  30. Quatorzième concert: II. Allemande : Vivement
  31. Quatorzième concert: III. Sarabande : Grave
  32. Quatorzième concert: IV. Fuguette