Appignani: The Last Bard

Appignani: The Last Bard
Composer Alessandro Appignani
Artist Alessandro Appignani piano
Yoko Kanamaru viola
Wolfgang Emanuel Schmidt cello
Quartetto d’archi di Torino
Format 1 CD
Cat. number 9235
EAN code 5029365923521
Release October 2011

Buy online

  • Buy at Amazon




Download & streams

  • Download at Spotify
  •  Buy at iTunes

Other buying options

About this release

Italian composer Alessandro Appignani began to play piano and cello as a small child, and was later drawn to composition, with a keen interest in the avant-garde of the 20th century. Alfred Schnittke is cited by Appignani as a composer who both inspired and influenced him. He studied piano with Marco Fumo, Hans Graf and Lazar Berman. His music is personal and as poetical as the titles might suggest.

Other information:
Recorded in 2009 and 2010, first recordings of music by this young Italian composer.
- Alessandro Appignani, an Italian contemporary musician and composer, identifies as “The Last Bard”, the person giving voice to the deepest human emotions, from the ancient times of the Gilgamesh Saga to the present world, man’s journey on an epic scale.
- Booklet notes included.

Track list

Disk 1

  1. Piano Quintet: The Angel Fall
  2. Piano Quintet: Brazil
  3. The Last Bard for string quartet
  4. L’Aleph, 26 Visions for solo piano
  5. Mediterranean Song, Canzona I for viola and piano
  6. A Window in the Wood, Suite for viola: Praeludium
  7. A Window in the Wood, Suite for viola: L’oiseau Lyre
  8. A Window in the Wood, Suite for viola: Giddy Dance
  9. A Window in the Wood, Suite for viola: Gavotta
  10. A Window in the Wood, Suite for viola: Comme une Gigue
  11. La Coscienza D’Orfeo for violin, cello and piano
  12. Hvareno for string quartet
  13. The Green Island, Canzona II for cello and piano
  14. Das Schloss for solo cello
  15. Scuatu for string quartet

On Youtube