Armenian Composers: Art Songs and Piano Music by Melikian, Mansurian and Avenesov

Composer Ramanos Melikian
Artist Mariam Sarkissian mezzo-soprano
Artur Avanesov piano
Format 1 CD
Cat. number 95244
EAN code 5028421952444
Release November 2015

Buy online

  • Buy at Amazon




Download & streams

Other buying options

About this release

Although Aram Khachaturian may be one of Armenia’s most famous composers, and certainly the best known of the 20th century, the vast wealth of compositional talent from that country by no means stops with him. This unusual and engrossing release showcases a selection of highly diverse songs by three of his compatriots. Beginning with Romanos Melikian’s Emerald Songs, with their Ravel-like harmonies and colourful modality, it also features the transgressive composer Tigran Mansurian, whose alternative style took inspiration from pop music of the 1960s as well as classical postmodern genres. Moving right through to the present day, the release concludes with works by Artur Avanesov, a young Armenian born in Russia. Keen to avoid stylistic unity, the Feux follets, a work still in progress, comprise a selection of songs with no thread to pull them together, the emphasis – according to the composer – being placed on a collective ‘creative past’.

The multi-talented Avanesov is the pianist as well as one of the featured composers on this release. Together with mezzo soprano Mariam Sarkissian, a highly acclaimed Russian singer based in France, the duo have carefully selected an enchanting and compelling assortment of songs, giving the listener a fascinating insight into Armenia’s rich cultural tapestry.

This year’s commemoration of the Armenian Genocide has drawn attention to the rich cultural heritage of this “hidden” country, with its unique language, script and folklore.
This new recording presents three Armenian composers of three generations.
The song cycle “Emerald Songs” by Romanos Melikyan is written on words by 8 contemporary Armenian poets, in a spicy Ravelian language inspired by Armenian folk music. Mansuryan is of the same generation and blood group of Schnittke, Gubaidulina, Pärt and Kancheli. Young Avanesov’s piano cycle “Feux follets” is in postmodern style, free and associative.
Sung with great intensity and feeling for the idiom by Armenian mezzo soprano Mariam Sarkissian, who recently received an “Orphée d’or” for her CD of vocal works by Tchaikovsky and Cui.

Other information:
Recorded in Armenia in 2014.
Contains liner notes written by the artists especially for this release.
Contains biographies of the artists.
Sung texts available at

Track list

Disk 1

  1. Emerald Songs: I. Black Partridge
  2. Emerald Songs: II. The Night Tumbled Down
  3. Emerald Songs: III. The Child and the Creek
  4. Emerald Songs: IV. Don’t Cry
  5. Emerald Songs: V. You Sparkle
  6. Emerald Songs: VI. I Am a Nightingale
  7. Emerald Songs: VII. Pure of the Purest Gold
  8. Emerald Songs: VIII. Lullaby
  9. Lullaby for a Prince
  10. Four Hayrens: I. Prophet David
  11. Four Hayrens: II. Soul of My Soul
  12. Four Hayrens: III. I Was of Those Birds
  13. Four Hayrens: IV. When I Came into This World
  14. Three Romances: I. Little Madrigal
  15. Three Romances: II. Echo
  16. Three Romances: III. Barrio de Córdoba
  17. Feux follets: I. If You Love Me
  18. Feux follets: II. Des fleurs et des abîmes
  19. Feux follets: III. Shivers of Autumn
  20. Feux follets: IV. Kinderstück
  21. Feux follets: V. Du bist die Ruh
  22. Feux follets: VI. You Are More Beautiful Than the Cedars of Lebanon