Bizet: Complete Orchestral Music

Bizet: Complete Orchestral Music
Composer Georges Bizet
Artist Orquesta Filarmonica de Mexico
Royal Philharmonic Orchestra
Enrique Batiz conductor
Format 3 CD
Cat. number 94404
EAN code 5028421944043
Release July 2012

Buy online

  • Buy at Amazon




Other buying options

About this release

Although many listeners will have been introduced to Georges Bizet (1838–1875) through his well-loved operas – notably The Pearl Fishers and Carmen – this fantastic volume celebrates his orchestral music, sometimes overlooked but entirely worthy of attention.

The collection surveys his complete body of orchestral works, taking in symphonies, suites, preludes and overtures. Fans of the dramatic compositions will not be disappointed: a large portion of the three-disc set is devoted to music inspired by or written for the stage. Two suites from Carmen are a highlight, with movements that bring to life the opera’s most magical moments, from Spanish dances to the famous Toréador song and Habañera. An orchestral suite based on the mature opera La Jolie Fille de Perth is also included, as are the two L’Arlésienne Suites of evocative, colourful incidental music to a play by Alphonse Daudet. Bizet’s two main contributions to large-scale symphonic music are also featured: although the composer was never entirely satisfied with Roma symphony, the early Symphony in C is undoubtedly one of his masterpieces, charming and ebullient in style.

Some less well-known but equally impressive works round off this collection, which is rich in opportunities for listeners to discover the different sides of Bizet’s colourful music. Enrique Bátiz, leading two internationally renowned orchestras, delivers thrilling performances, making this an indispensable and comprehensive volume.

Other information:
- This 3-CD set, contains the complete orchestral music of Georges Bizet, featuring such evergreens as the Carmen and Arlésienne Suites, the endearing Jeux d’Enfants and the fresh and brilliant Symphony in C, written in his teens.
- A comprehensive survey of Bizet’s complete orchestral music; the ideal way for aficionados of his operas to discover a different side of this famous French composer.
- Excellent performances by Maestro Enrique Batiz and his Mexican Orchestra, as well as the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra.
- Includes booklet notes, with detailed information about each work.

Track list

Disk 1

  1. Carmen Suite No. 1: I. Prélude – Aragonaise
  2. Carmen Suite No. 1: II. Intermezzo
  3. Carmen Suite No. 1: III. Séguedille
  4. Carmen Suite No. 1: IV. Les Dragons d’Alcala
  5. Carmen Suite No. 1: V. Les Toréadors
  6. Carmen Suite No. 2: I. Marche des Contrebandiers
  7. Carmen Suite No. 2: II. Habañera
  8. Carmen Suite No. 2: III. Nocturne
  9. Carmen Suite No. 2: IV. Chanson du Toréador
  10. Carmen Suite No. 2: V. La Garde montante
  11. Carmen Suite No. 2: VI. Danse bohème
  12. Les Pêcheurs de perles: Prélude
  13. Patrie: Overture, Op. 19

Disk 2

  1. L’Arlésienne Suite No. 1: I. Ouverture
  2. L’Arlésienne Suite No. 1: II. Minuetto
  3. L’Arlésienne Suite No. 1: III. Adagietto
  4. L’Arlésienne Suite No. 1: IV. Carillon
  5. L’Arlésienne Suite No. 2: I. Pastorale
  6. L’Arlésienne Suite No. 2: II. Intermezzo
  7. L’Arlésienne Suite No. 2: III. Minuetto
  8. L’Arlésienne Suite No. 2: IV. Farandole
  9. La Jolie Fille de Perth Suite: I. Prélude
  10. La Jolie Fille de Perth Suite: II. Sérénade
  11. La Jolie Fille de Perth Suite: III. Marche
  12. La Jolie Fille de Perth Suite: IV. Danse bohémienne
  13. Jeux d’enfants Suite, Op. 22: I. Marche: Trompette et tambour
  14. Jeux d’enfants Suite, Op. 22: II. Berceuse: La Poupée
  15. Jeux d’enfants Suite, Op. 22: III. Impromptu: La Toupie
  16. Jeux d’enfants Suite, Op. 22: IV. Duo: Petit mari, petite femme
  17. Jeux d’enfants Suite, Op. 22: V. Galop: Le Bal

Disk 3

  1. Symphony in C: I. Allegro vivo
  2. Symphony in C: II. Adagio
  3. Symphony in C: III. Scherzo: Allegro vivace
  4. Symphony in C: IV. Allegro vivace
  5. Roma: I. Andante tranquillo – Allegro agitato
  6. Roma: II. Allegretto vivace
  7. Roma: III. Andante molto
  8. Roma: IV. Allegro vivacissimo