Carissimi: Complete Oratorios

Composer Giacomo Carissimi
Artist Ensemble Seicentonovecento
Flavio Colusso conductor
Format 9 CD
Cat. number 94491
EAN code 5028421944913
Release January 2013

Buy online

  • Buy at Amazon

Download & streams

  • Download at Spotify
  •  Buy at iTunes

Other buying options

About this release

Giacomo Carissimi may not exactly be a household name, but during his time he was one of the most respected musicians in Europe. Born in 1605, he avoided becoming a cooper, unlike the rest of his family, cultivating his musical talent first as a singer, then organist, and eventually chapel master. He enjoyed a succession of positions at various religious institutions in his native Italy, including the church of the Jesuit Collegium Germanicum in Rome – which, under his guidance, was transformed into an international centre for music.

Indeed, Carissimi was a highly influential teacher whose fame reached far abroad, thanks to a number of his pupils (Krieger and Charpentier, among others). Now regarded as the grandfather of modern European music, he was essentially responsible for the forging of a new medium of ecclesiastical expression, that of the oratorio, and it is to his cultivation of this genre that this compilation is dedicated. Carissimi would take an historia, or biblical episode, from the Old Testament, and using a range of expressive procedures transform the narrative into the form of a spiritual play – a sacred epic in which recitative, ariosos, arias and choruses follow each other without interruption. From the dramatic use of silence and chromaticism to dissonant chords and embellishments underlining an important word, Carissimi utilised a rich palette of expression in order to heighten the drama of the plot.

In their performances of works such as The Last Judgement and David and Jonathan, Ensemble Seicentonovecento – who aim to recreate the conditions and characteristics of 17th-century performance – breathe new life into this forgotten voice of the past. They are astutely led by Flavio Colusso, who also directs a number of the composer’s sacred motets.

Other information:
- Recorded in Halls A & B, via Asiago and Foro Italico (RAI), Rome.
- For the first time on CD: the complete sacred Oratorios by Carissimi!
- Giacomo Carissimi was a master of the early Italian Baroque, he lived from 1605 till 1674, a celebrated composer and chapel master. He is famous as the first composer of Oratorios, large scale works for vocal soloists, choir and instrumental group, depicting in a dramatic style certain episodes from the bible. With this he lay the foundation for the oratorio as composed by generations to come, notably Charpentier, Handel and later Mendelssohn.
- His most famous oratorios are Jephte, Jonas, Historia di Job, Diluvium Universale and Cain.
- Performances by one of the leading Italian conductors in the early music field: Flavio Colusso, with a fine line up of Italian vocal soloists and his own choir and instrumental Ensemble Seicentonovecento.
- Liner notes in English and Italian, sung texts available by clicking 'Download booklet', below the cover.

Track list

Disk 1

  1. Jonas: Symphonia – Cum repleta
  2. Jonas: Jonas autem
  3. Jonas: Tulerunt nautae
  4. Jonas: Et crediderunt Ninivitae
  5. Jephte: Cum vocasset in proelium
  6. Jephte: Cum autem victor
  7. Jephte: Cum vidisset Jephte
  8. Jephte: Abiit ergo in montes
  9. Historia di Job: Audi, audi Job
  10. Historia di Job: Sit tecum timor suus
  11. Historia di Job: Ignis Dei cecidit
  12. Historia di Job: Filiis tuis et filiabus
  13. Historia di Job: Vade, vade spiritus malus

Disk 2

  1. Diluvium Universale: Symphonia – Cum Vidisset
  2. Diluvium Universale: Noe, Noe, ubi es?
  3. Diluvium Universale: Dirupti sunt ergo
  4. Diluvium Universale: Post dies vero
  5. Diluvium Universale: Polos sidereos
  6. Cain: Offerebat Cain
  7. Cain: Tunc egressus est
  8. Judicium Extremum: Synphonia – Aspiciebam
  9. Judicium Extremum: Surgite mortui
  10. Judicium Extremum: Quam magna, quam amara
  11. Judicium Extremum: Tunc, apertis coelis
  12. Judicium Extremum: Quam magna, quam amara

Disk 3

  1. Audite Sancti: Audite sancti, audite justi
  2. Salve Jesu: Salve Jesu spes nostra
  3. Quo Tam Laetus: Quo tam laetus progrederis
  4. Quis Est Hic: Quis est hic vir beatissimus
  5. Suscitavit Dominus: Suscitavit Dominus
  6. Qui Non Renuntiat: Qui non renuntiat omnibus
  7. Cum Reverteretur David
  8. Historia Dei Pelligrini Di Emmaus: Duo ex discipulis Jesu

Disk 4

  1. Historia Divitis: Erat vir
  2. Historia Divitis: Jam satis edisti
  3. Historia Divitis: Sat mensas
  4. Historia Divitis: Mortuus est
  5. Historia Divitis: O dives miserrime
  6. Historia Divitis: Quam stulti sunt
  7. Historia Divitis: Avernales inter poenas
  8. Vanitas I: Vanitas vanitatum
  9. Vir Frugi Et Pater Familias: Amice, amice!
  10. Vir Frugi Et Pater Familias: Aperi, Domine

Disk 5

  1. Balthazar: Symphonia – Balthazar
  2. Balthazar: Inter epulas canori
  3. Balthazar: Et ecce, inter laetantium
  4. Balthazar: Hinc ediscite, o gentes!
  5. Martyres: Symphonia – Tollite Sancti mei
  6. Martyres: Beati eritis
  7. Martyres: Venite, venite Sancti mei
  8. Martyres: Congaudete nobiscum
  9. Vanitas II: Symphonia – Proposui in mente
  10. Vanitas II: Symphonia – Codnitavi transferre
  11. Vanitas II: Symphonia – Dixi in corde meo
  12. Vanitas II: Symphonia – Coacervavi mihi
  13. Vanitas II: Symphonia – Feci mihi cantores
  14. Vanitas II: Hinc, mortales, ediscite

Disk 6

  1. Judicium Salomonis: Symphonia – A solis ortu
  2. Judicium Salomonis: Caicona – Congratulamini
  3. Judicium Salomonis: O populi venite
  4. Historia Abraham et Isaac: Tentavit Deus Abraham
  5. Historia Abraham et Isaac: Ne extendas manum tuam
  6. Historia Abraham et Isaac: Omnes populi
  7. Dicite Nobis: Dicite nobis
  8. Dicite Nobis: O quies beata
  9. Historia Davidis Et Jonathae: Symphonia – Percusso Goliath
  10. Historia Davidis Et Jonathae: Exhorruit sermone
  11. Historia Davidis Et Jonathae: Et reversus est
  12. Historia Davidis Et Jonathae: Revelavit Dominus

Disk 7

  1. Lamenatio Damnatorium: Turbabuntur impii
  2. Lucifer: Lucifer, coelestis olim
  3. Sum Umbra Noctis: Sub umbra noctis profundae
  4. Anima et Angelus: Crucios, crusior in hac flamma
  5. Felicitas Beatorum: Symphonia – Exultabunt justi
  6. Felicitas Beatorum: Cunctis diebus
  7. Felicitas Beatorum: In solitusine erravi
  8. Felicitas Beatorum: Quid fugacius vitae

Disk 8

  1. Sponsa Canticorum: Symphina – Filiae Jerusalem
  2. Sponsa Canticorum: Symphonia – Laboravit dilecta
  3. Sponsa Canticorum: Symphonia – Ecce, ad te clamat
  4. Sponsa Canticorum: Symphonia – O quam amarum
  5. Sponsa Canticorum: Symphonia – Quis cognoscat
  6. Sponsa Canticorum: Symphonia – Ite ergo
  7. Tolle Sponsa: Tolle, Sponsa, tolle fores
  8. Domine Quis Habitabit: Domine, quis habitabit
  9. Domine Quis Habitabit: Domine Deus meus
  10. Domine Quis Habitabit: O salus amata, o domus baeta
  11. Exechias: Symphonia – Aegrotante Ezechia
  12. Exechias: Surrexit Isaias
  13. Exechias: Tunc convertens
  14. Exechias: Misertus est
  15. Exechias: Et reversus est

Disk 9

  1. Oratorio Della SS. Vergine: Sinfonia – Ghirlandata di rose
  2. Oratorio Della SS. Vergine: to de l’eterna Mente primogenita
  3. Oratorio Della SS. Vergine: Ecco al vento le bandiere
  4. Oratorio Della SS. Vergine: Taccia Betulia
  5. Oratorio Della SS. Vergine: Sú, sú si spogli di fiori il prato
  6. Oratorio Della SS. Vergine: Notte mai non è sì nera
  7. Oratorio di Daniele Profeta: Nella famosa terra di Media
  8. Oratorio di Daniele Profeta: Dunque n’andrà
  9. Oratorio di Daniele Profeta: Nell’udir che fe’ Dario
  10. Oratorio di Daniele Profeta: Poiché la schiera infame
  11. Oratorio di Daniele Profeta: Taci, lingua perversa