Chopin: Early Works

Chopin: Early Works
Composer Frédéric Chopin
Artist Constantino Mastroprimiano fortepiano
Format 1 CD
Cat. number 94066
EAN code 5028421940663
Release May 2010

Buy online

  • Buy at Amazon




Download & streams

  • Download at Spotify
  •  Buy at iTunes

Other buying options

About this release

This release presents works of Chopin written in his Vienna period, and here they are played on exactly such an instrument, as is still preserved in the Italian Palazzo Contucci in Montepulciano.

The young Chopin, a child prodigy if ever there was one, soon found his surroundings in his native Warsaw too narrow, and visited the cultural capital Vienna during the years 1829-1831. Here he met the local piano manufacturer Conrad Graf and was seduced by his instruments, with their light action and delicate, pliant sound. His triumphal concerts in Vienna were played on Graf’s pianos, and the young Fryderick was presented one as a gift by Graf himself.

Other information:
- The extensive booklet supplies historical background, pictures, illustrations and photos.
- Costantino Mastroprimiano has already recorded extensively for Brilliant Classics: the complete keyboard music of Clementi (BC94379), highly praised by international critics.

Track list

Disk 1

  1. Polonaise in A flat Major (dedicated to Zywny) (1821)
  2. Rondo in C Minor op. 1 (1825)
  3. Mazurka in G Major, (1825-26)
  4. Mazurka in B flat Major, (1825-26)
  5. Polonaise in B flat Minor (1826)
  6. Rondo à la Mazur in F Major op. 5 (1826)
  7. 3 Polonaises op. 71 (1827-29) in d Minor
  8. 3 Polonaises op. 71 (1827-29) in F Minor
  9. 3 Polonaises op. 71 (1827-29) in B flat Major
  10. Polonaise in G flat Major (1829)
  11. Variations in A Major “Souvenir de Paganini” (1829)
  12. “Casta DIVa” from V. Bellini’s “Norma” (transcription for P. viardot)