C.P.E. Bach: Oden / Sacred Songs

C.P.E. Bach: Oden / Sacred Songs
Composer Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach
Artist Julian Redlin bass
Jörn Boysen harpsichord
Format 1 CD
Cat. number 94309
EAN code 5028421943091
Release February 2012

Buy online

  • Buy at Amazon

Download & streams

Other buying options

About this release

Although musical settings of strophic poems were rarely composed or performed in the early years of the 18th century, by around 1730 the genre experienced a renewal of interest. It was in this context that Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach wrote his Oden and Lieder, inspired by a group of German music critics, theorists and composers who believed that music and language could be reunified through song.

Bach’s earliest songs were based on Anacreontic poems, somewhat humorous texts with pastoral characters and settings, which generally dealt with the themes of love and drinking! Examples collected on this recording include Das Privilegium, Belinde and Die Küsse. However, Bach saved his real efforts and inspiration for settings of religious and moral poetry, which appealed to him on a more personal level. Featured on this CD, Prüfung am Abend, Osterlied and Die Ehre Gottes aus der Natur display imaginative combinations of recitative and aria, brilliant accompaniments, and a sensitive match between words and music.

As Bach’s career progressed, his approach to the genre developed. After moving to Hamburg in 1768, he published a collection of relatively simple, strophic psalm settings in response to public demand. Following this, his last collection of sacred songs, from 1780–1781, almost pre-figure Romanticism in their dramatic text settings.

Collecting together a selection of songs from each stage of C.P.E. Bach’s career, this new recording is a fascinating cross-section of his contribution to this genre. Not only do the songs, Odes and psalm settings demonstrate the variety of styles that Bach turned his hand to throughout his career, they highlight his supreme skill at combining words and music.

Other information:
- Booklet notes in English and German
- Complete sung texts included
- New recording, made in 2011

Track list

Disk 1

  1. Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach: Die Ehre Gottes aus der Natur, Wq. 194/18
  2. Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach: Betrachtung des Todes, Wq. 194/26
  3. Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach: Die Zufriedenheit in Gott, Wq. 195/6
  4. Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach: Prüfung am Abend, Wq. 194/7
  5. Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach: Osterlied, Wq. 194/10
  6. Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach: Der Unbeständige, H. 709
  7. Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach: Der 8. Psalm, Wq. 196/4
  8. Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach: Der 23. Psalm, Wq. 196/8
  9. Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach: Der 86. Psalm, Wq. 196/19
  10. Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach: Der 67. Psalm, Wq. 196/18
  11. Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach: Das Privilegium, H. 693
  12. Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach: Der Tag des Weltgerichts, Wq. 197/13
  13. Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach: Der Frühling, Wq. 197/14
  14. Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach: Die Fortdauer der Lehre Jesu, Wq. 197/21
  15. Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach: Andenken an den Tod, Wq. 198/12
  16. Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach: Die Küsse, H. 673
  17. Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach: Belinde, H. 695