Crescentini & Giuliani: Songs for Soprano and Guitar

Composer Girolamo Crescentini, Mauro Giuliani
Artist Veronica Amarres soprano
Sandro Volta guitar
Format 1 CD
Cat. number 94779
EAN code 5028421947792
Release July 2014

Buy online

  • Buy at Amazon

Download & streams

Other buying options

About this release

Today’s concept of bel canto is founded primarily on the beautiful melodies of the brilliant virtuoso opera arias of La sonnambula, L’elisir d’amore etc; this recording aims to challenge the listener’s understanding of this term by introducing another, much lesser-known facet: that of chamber bel canto, or bel canto da camera. Ariettas by two Italian 19th-century composers Mauro Giuliani and Girolamo Crescentini are thus included, and while neither of these names are normally counted among the ‘bel canto’ greats, such as the opera-centric Bellini and Donizetti, both composers’ chamber works in fact reveals the “subtlety of the human soul much more deeply,” argue the artists, “than in the brightest operas arias.”

Crescentini was at one point employed as a Singing Master to Napoleon’s family, and in his day Giuliani was counted among the greatest virtuoso guitarists of his generation, reaching the height of his performing-composing career in Vienna during the early 1800s. At hand to perform each composer’s works is soprano ‘sfogato’ Veronica Amarres – a graduate of St Petersburg Conservatory whose competition successes include first prize at the Athens’ Maria Callas Grand Prix – and the guitarist Sandro Volta, winner of the Grand Prix Du Disque in Paris in 1994 and whose performances have been praised by the likes of The New York Times and Early Music magazine for their originality of interpretation.

Other information:
- A beautiful bouquet of songs in Bel Canto da Camera style: small scale arias or ariettas, drawing room dramas in gentle, charming bel canto cantilenas, eschewing the high strung passions of opera arias by the likes of Bellini and Donizetti, but no less poignant and touching.
- Includes world premiere recording of Crescentini’s original version of 12 Ariettas.
- Beautifully sung, with the right touch of sentiment, by soprano Veronica Amarres (First prize of Maria Callas Competition in Athens) and excellent guitarist Sandro Volta.
- Liner notes and biographies included in the booklet.
- Sung texts available for download by clicking on ‘Download booklet’, below the cover.

Track list

Disk 1

  1. Girolamo Crescentini: 12 Ariettas: III. Languir d’amore
  2. Girolamo Crescentini: 12 Ariettas: V. Ecco quel fiero istante
  3. Girolamo Crescentini: 12 Ariettas: IX. Non v’è più barbaro
  4. Girolamo Crescentini: 12 Ariettas: II. Dove rivolgo, oh Dio?
  5. Girolamo Crescentini: 12 Ariettas: VIII. Numi, se giusti siete
  6. Girolamo Crescentini: 12 Ariettas: XI. Per valli, per boschi
  7. Girolamo Crescentini: 12 Ariettas: XII. Se spiegar potessi appieno
  8. Girolamo Crescentini: 12 Ariettas: IV. Oh teneri pensieri
  9. Girolamo Crescentini: 12 Ariettas: I. Tu mi chiedi, oh mio tesoro
  10. Girolamo Crescentini: 12 Ariettas: VI. Dal dì ch’io vi ammirai
  11. Girolamo Crescentini: 12 Ariettas: X. Ch’io mai vi possa
  12. Girolamo Crescentini: 12 Ariettas: VII. Clori, la pastorella
  13. Mauro Giuliani: 12 Valzer, Op. 57: No. 1 in A Minor
  14. Mauro Giuliani: 12 Valzer, Op. 57: No. 6 in E Major
  15. Mauro Giuliani: Six Ariettas, Op. 95: I. Ombre amene
  16. Mauro Giuliani: Six Ariettas, Op. 95: II. Fra tutte le pene
  17. Mauro Giuliani: Six Ariettas, Op. 95: III. Quando sarà quel di
  18. Mauro Giuliani: Six Ariettas, Op. 95: IV. Le dimore amor non ama
  19. Mauro Giuliani: Six Ariettas, Op. 95: V. Ad altro laccio
  20. Mauro Giuliani: Six Ariettas, Op. 95: VI. Di due bell’anime