Debussy: Etudes, Estampes

Debussy: Etudes, Estampes
Composer Claude Debussy
Artist Mariangela Vacatello piano
Format 1 CD
Cat. number 94371
EAN code 5028421943718
Release September 2012

Buy online

  • Buy at Amazon

Download & streams

Other buying options

About this release

The Debussy-year 2012 brought a wealth of reissues on the market, but surprisingly few new recordings. Reason the more to welcome this new recording of a generous selection of Debussy piano works, centred around the substantial “12 Etudes”.These works, written in the later stage of Debussy’s creative life, form the apotheosis of his style. Far from any evocative “impressionistic” Tonmalerei or picturesque
atmosphere painting they are Debussy’s answer to the Etudes of Chopin, purely abstract creations of melody, harmony and rhythm. Fiercely uncompromising and difficult, they form the summit of Debussy’s piano oeuvre, and one of the highest challenges to any performing pianist.

The exciting young Italian pianist Mariangela Vacatello is a Liszt specialist, renowned for her passionate performances and technical ability. She has given concerts at prestigious venues across the USA and Europe, and she has won many awards. These include second prize at the Franz Liszt International Piano Competition in 1999, and the Internet Audience Award at the 2009 Van Cliburn International Piano Competition. ‘A very exciting player’ Musical Opinion, 2008.

Vacatello’s previous disc of the Transcendental Studies on Brilliant Classics won golden opinions; now she turns to a no less challenging but somewhat more elliptical aesthetic with the late piano music of Debussy. The 12 Etudes move from ironic instruction to fiendish complexity; part satire, part evocation of a lost world. Complementing the Etudes are the more immediately assimilable sets of Estampes and early Arabesques as well as the delightful glitter of L’Isle Joyeuse.

Other information:
- Recorded in 2012.
- Includes booklet notes and biography.
- The young Italian pianist Mariangela Vacatello likes challenges, as was convincingly proven by her excellent recording of the Liszt Transcendental Studies (Brilliant Classics): “…poetic and playful, her technique knows no limits..a remarkable artist..” (Piano News) and a “5 Star” review in the German magazine Fono Forum.
- Liner notes in English and Italian.

Track list

Disk 1

  1. Claude Debussy: 12 Etudes: I. Pour les cinq doigts (d’après Monsieur Czerny)
  2. Claude Debussy: 12 Etudes: II. Pour les tierces
  3. Claude Debussy: 12 Etudes: III. Pour les quartes
  4. Claude Debussy: 12 Etudes: IV. Pour les sixtes
  5. Claude Debussy: 12 Etudes: V. Pour les octaves
  6. Claude Debussy: 12 Etudes: VI. Pour les huit doigts
  7. Claude Debussy: 12 Etudes: VII. Pour les degrés chromatiques
  8. Claude Debussy: 12 Etudes: VIII. Pour les agréments
  9. Claude Debussy: 12 Etudes: IX. Pour les notes répétées
  10. Claude Debussy: 12 Etudes: X. Pour les sonorités opposées
  11. Claude Debussy: 12 Etudes: XI. Pour les arpèges composés
  12. Claude Debussy: 12 Etudes: XII. Pour les accords
  13. Claude Debussy: Estampes: I. Pagodes
  14. Claude Debussy: Estampes: II. La soirée dans Grenade
  15. Claude Debussy: Estampes: III. Jardins sous la pluie
  16. Claude Debussy: Deux Arabesques: No. 1 Andantino con moto
  17. Claude Debussy: Deux Arabesques: No.2 Allegretto scherzando
  18. Claude Debussy: L’Isle joyeuse