Gambini: Organ Music

Gambini: Organ Music
Composer Carlo Andrea Gambini
Artist Marco Ruggeri organ
Format 2 CD
Cat. number 95515
EAN code 5028421955155
Release December 2017

Buy online

  • Buy at Amazon

Download & streams

Other buying options

About this release

Grand 19th century organ music from an unknown Italian composer, including an alternative take on ‘The Four Seasons’.

Carlo Andrea Gambini (1819-1865) was passed over by the compilers of Grove’s dictionary, and almost none of his diverse output has been preserved on record. Here, then, is a marvellous chance to catch up with the thoroughly entertaining work of a musician, Genoese born and bred. He was no organ specialist but a musician of diverse talents who composed for the stage, with at least three operas to his name, the concert-hall, including symphonic tone-poems and concert-overtures.

His extant output, however, centres on church music. L’organo moderno Op.106 is a collection of 24 versets for organ: brief pieces of hugely varied character, designed as inserts to cover or accompany variousstages of the Mass that would otherwise be silent. Gambini is an imaginative composer for the organ’s timbral possibilities: flutes, horns, bassoons, and Vox Humana stops are all given solo spots. These are then further exploited in the Concertone per molti stromenti, which features folk-like melodies.

In his own booklet introduction to Gambini, Marco Ruggeri explains that he has chosen to arrange some of the composer’s piano music for organ, such as excerpts from the Capricci caratteristici Op.55 and the Scintille elettriche Op.90, whose work-titles (chorale, toccata and so on) suggest a compatibility with the organ. Le Quattro Stagioni Op.128 was composed at a time when Vivaldi’s now ubiquitous cycle of concertos was completely unknown. Made up of four parts, one for each season, the work expresses the composer’s perceptions of nature (evoking birdsong, storms and ice), and of seasonal rituals, both sacred and secular (hunting in autumn, a prayer following a summer storm, winter dances).

The organ music of lesser-known, 19th-century Italian composers has been explored by Marco Ruggeri on several Brilliant Classics albums devoted to Giovanni Morandi (BC95333), Vincenzo Petrali (BC95160) and Polibio Fumagalli (BC95468). This last disc won a warm recommendation from MusicWeb International: it is ‘played superbly by Marco Ruggeri, who has Fumagelli's style very well covered from witty to serious… The recordings are excellent in both locations.’ Here he plays on the instrument built by Ernesto Lingiardi in 1854 for the Church of St. Vittore, Calcio, in the Lombardian province of Bergamo.

Carlo Andrea Gambini (1819-1865) was born in Genua, Italy. His talent was recognized at an early age and he developed into one of the most prominent concert pianists of his time.
As a composer Gambini was a son of his time, his style is highly romantic, influenced by the Italian opera and its grandiloquence, pomp and sentiment. Gambini’s friendship with the famous organ builder family Lingiardi led him to compose extensively for the organ. This new recording presents a collection of character pieces like Toccata, Pastorale, Corale, Passeggiata, Elevation, March, a Finale and the complete cycle of “L’Organo moderno, 24 versetti per organo”, short pieces well suited for liturgical use, technically demanding and using the full possibilities of the organs in use at the time.
Played on the Lingiardi organ of 1854 of San Vittore, Calcio, Italy, a magnificent instrument which Gambini was familiar with. All specification of the instrument are included in the booklet.

Track list

Disk 1

  1. L’organo modern, Op. 106: I. Allegro moderato assai
  2. L’organo modern, Op. 106: II. Andantino sostenuto
  3. L’organo modern, Op. 106: III. Andante sostenuto
  4. L’organo modern, Op. 106: IV. Allegro moderato
  5. L’organo modern, Op. 106: V. Andante sostenuto
  6. L’organo modern, Op. 106: VI. Andante mosso
  7. L’organo modern, Op. 106: VII. Allegro maestoso
  8. L’organo modern, Op. 106: VIII. Allegro brillante
  9. L’organo modern, Op. 106: IX. Allegro moderato
  10. L’organo modern, Op. 106: X. Andantino
  11. L’organo modern, Op. 106: XI. Allegretto brillante
  12. L’organo modern, Op. 106: XII. Adagio sostenuto
  13. L’organo modern, Op. 106: XIII. Allegretto con moto
  14. L’organo modern, Op. 106: XIV. Adagio sostenuto
  15. L’organo modern, Op. 106: XV. Andante
  16. L’organo modern, Op. 106: XVI. Allegro moderato
  17. L’organo modern, Op. 106: XVII. Andante sostenuto
  18. L’organo modern, Op. 106: XVIII. Allegretto brillante
  19. L’organo modern, Op. 106: XIX. Moderato
  20. L’organo modern, Op. 106: XX. Allegretto pastorale
  21. L’organo modern, Op. 106: XXI. Allegretto brillante
  22. L’organo modern, Op. 106: XXII. Andante sostenuto
  23. L’organo modern, Op. 106: XXIII. Andante mosso
  24. L’organo modern, Op. 106: XXIV. Andantino pastorale

Disk 2

  1. Concertone a più strumenti
  2. Elevazione
  3. Marcia
  4. Le quattro stagioni, Op. 128: I. Primavera
  5. Le quattro stagioni, Op. 128: II. Estate
  6. Le quattro stagioni, Op. 128: III. Autunno
  7. Le quattro stagioni, Op. 128: IV. Inverno
  8. Toccata No. 9 in D Major, Op. 55
  9. Corale No. 11, Op. 55
  10. Pastorale No. 8, Op. 55
  11. Passeggiata No. 10, Op. 55
  12. Toccata No. 5 in G Major, Op. 90
  13. Finale No. 12, Op. 55