Giuliani: Harp Sonatas

Giuliani: Harp Sonatas
Composer Giovanni Francesco Giuliani
Artist Lisetta Rossi harp
Format 1 CD
Cat. number 94305
EAN code 5028421943053
Release January 2012

Buy online

  • Buy at Amazon




Download & streams

  • Download at Spotify
  •  Buy at iTunes

Other buying options

About this release

The composer and musician Giovanni Francesco Giuliani (c.1760–1818) lived and worked in Florence during an immense flourishing of creativity during the late 18th and early 19th centuries; this era witnessed, among other events, the founding of Pietro Nardini’s prestigious music school, premiere performances of important new works, and a choir and new instrumental ensembles, all influenced by the creation of a small state court with close links to Vienna. Within this climate, Giuliani worked as an orchestral and operatic violinist and music teacher, and was known for his instrumental compositions.

Not only is this recording of interest because of its focus on a composer whose work is rarely performed, yet who lived within a time of great musical creativity, harp sonatas were rare during Giuliani’s era, and the repertoire heard here is part of just a few examples of this type of work. While the early sonatas tend to feature the standard instrumental sonata form, later pieces often contain prelude or interlude movements of a freer or improvisatory nature. All, however, are similar in their use of the Galant style, with predictable harmonic and tonal structures, chordal accompaniments, and simple, flowing melodies.

The repertoire featured in this recording is complemented by the use of an Erard harp from 1818, performed by Lisetta Rossi.

Other information:
- Rare repertoire, by a relatively unknown composer
- Part of the Tesori Musicali Toscani project, which aims to promote relatively unknown Tuscan music from the 16th to 18th centuries
- Booklet notes included, in English and Italian.

Track list

Disk 1

  1. Sonata No.9 in F: I. Allegro vivace
  2. Sonata No.9 in F: II. Larghetto
  3. Sonata No.9 in F: III. Allegro assai
  4. Sonata No.9 in F: IV. Allegro non tanto
  5. Sonata No.9 in F: V. Allegro
  6. Sonata No.10 in B-Flat: I. Larghetto
  7. Sonata No.10 in B-Flat: II. Allegro assai
  8. Sonata No.10 in B-Flat: III. Tempo di Minuè
  9. Sonata No.10 in B-Flat: IV. Allegro
  10. Sonata No.10 in B-Flat: V. Allegro
  11. Sonata No.8 in F: I. Allegretto con variazioni
  12. Sonata No.8 in F: II. Preludio: Allegro
  13. Sonata No.8 in F: III. Sostenuto
  14. Sonata No.8 in F: IV. Allegro
  15. Sonata No.5 in E-Flat: I. Preludio: Allegro
  16. Sonata No.5 in E-Flat: II. Allegro grazioso – Allegro
  17. Sonata No.2 in B-Flat: I. Andante
  18. Sonata No.2 in B-Flat: II. Minuè – Deuxième Minué
  19. Sonata No.2 in B-Flat: III. Allegro
  20. Sonata No.12 in C: I. Andantino con variazioni
  21. Sonata No.12 in C: II. Sostenuto.
  22. Sonata No.12 in C: III. Allegro con grazia – Allegro assai
  23. Sonata No.3 in E-Flat: I. Moderato
  24. Sonata No.3 in E-Flat: II. Larghetto
  25. Sonata No.3 in E-Flat: III. Allegro
  26. Sonata No.11 in E-Flat: I. Andante sostenuto
  27. Sonata No.11 in E-Flat: II. Larghetto
  28. Sonata No.11 in E-Flat: III. Allegro
  29. Sonata No.6 in C: I. Andante con variazioni
  30. Sonata No.6 in C: II. Maestoso
  31. Sonata No.6 in C: III. Grazioso – Presto
  32. Sonata No.4 in F: I. Allegro non tanto
  33. Sonata No.4 in F: II. Andante sostenuto
  34. Sonata No.4 in F: III. Allegro
  35. Sonata No.1 in C: I. Andante
  36. Sonata No.1 in C: II. Minuè
  37. Sonata No.1 in C: III. Allegro
  38. Sonata No.7 in B-Flat: I. Andante con variazioni
  39. Sonata No.7 in B-Flat: II. Allegro
  40. Sonata No.7 in B-Flat: III. Larghetto – Allegro – Allegro assai – Andante – Allegro assai