Hindemith: 4 Sonatas for Viola Solo

Hindemith: 4 Sonatas for Viola Solo
Composer Paul Hindemith
Artist Luca Ranieri viola
Format 1 CD
Cat. number 95413
EAN code 5028421954134
Release November 2018

Buy online

  • Buy at Amazon

Download & streams

Other buying options

About this release

Hindemith was not only a composer but also a hugely talented viola player who wrote a number of remarkable, innovative works for his instrument. The piano-accompanied sonatas are relatively well-known, so too the Trauermusik composed in a single evening to mark the death of King George V. The solo viola works have had less attention: Hindemith referred to them as Gebrauchsmusik, by which he meant compositions with simple, linear structures, often intended for amateur players: music that responded to a particular need or use.

Their language owes something to the solo viola music by Max Reger, with which Hindemith was certainly familiar. However, Hindemith could draw on both greater individuality as a melodist as well as his own considerable skills as a violist to inform his idiomatic writing for the instrument. Op.11 No.5 (1919) has a Classical structurein four movements, concluding with a noble passacaglia: the work of a gifted 24-year-old who is still establishing his own path within the wider context of musical tradition. Op.25 No.1 belongs to Hindemith’s Neoclassical period: spiky and witty with a whirlwind finale. Composed in 1923, the Sonata Op.31 No.4 evolves in more traditional fashion, from a perpetuum mobile opening movement to a grave but not melancholy song, followed by a theme-and-variation finale. The 1937 Sonata is much more searching and chromatic, doubtless reflecting its troubled times, and notably exploiting contrasts of sound and silence.

Luca Ranieri is among Italy’s most distinguished violists, having been conducted as a soloist by the likes of Mehta, Giulini and Sinopoli. His many recordings include the Cello Suites of Bach arranged for viola: ‘Ranieri plays with elegance and clean articulation, and his tone is clear.’ (All Music Review)

The works on this CD are evidence of Paul Hindemith’s love for the viola, an instrument of which he was a keen professional player (he was leader of the violas in the Frankfurt Opera Orchestra) and for which he wrote a considerable amount of music.
The Viola Sonatas were written as “Gebrauchsmusik”, not intended for the concert hall, pure music written to create approachable music for as many people as possible.
In all these works Hindemith’s particular style shines through: from the strict neo-classicism, the “Neue Sachlichkeit” to vigorous expressionism, all sharing his joy of invention and creation.
Played by master violist Luca Ranieri, one of Italy’s foremost violists. The excellent booklet notes are in English and Italian.

Track list

Disk 1

  1. Viola Sonata No. 4, Op. 31: I. Äußerst lebhaft
  2. Viola Sonata No. 4, Op. 31: II. Lied. Ruhig, mit wenig Ausdruck. Langsame Viertel
  3. Viola Sonata No. 4, Op. 31: III. Thema mit Variationen. Schnelle Viertel
  4. Viola Sonata 1937: I. Lebhafte Halbe
  5. Viola Sonata 1937: II. Langsame Viertel
  6. Viola Sonata 1937: III. Mäßig schnelle Viertel
  7. Viola Sonata No. 5, Op. 11: I. Lebhaft, aber nicht geeilt
  8. Viola Sonata No. 5, Op. 11: II. Mäßig schnell, mit viel Wärme vortragen
  9. Viola Sonata No. 5, Op. 11: III. Scherzo. Schnell
  10. Viola Sonata No. 5, Op. 11: IV. In Form und Zeitmass einer Passacaglia. Das Thema sehr gehalten
  11. Viola Sonata No. 1, Op. 25: I. Breit Viertel – II. Sehr frisch und straff
  12. Viola Sonata No. 1, Op. 25: III. Sehr langsam
  13. Viola Sonata No. 1, Op. 25: IV. Rasendes Zeitmaß. Wild.Tonschönheit ist Nebensache
  14. Viola Sonata No. 1, Op. 25: V. Langsam, mit viel Ausdruck