Ives: Piano Sonatas

Ives: Piano Sonatas
Composer Charles Ives
Artist Eleonore Pameijer flute
René Eckhardt piano
Format 1 CD
Cat. number 9135
EAN code 5029365913522
Release October 2009

Buy online

  • Buy at Amazon




Download & streams

  • Download at Spotify
  •  Buy at iTunes

Other buying options

About this release

Track list

Disk 1

  1. Piano Sonata No. 1: I. Adagio con moto – Andante con moto – Allegro risoluto ‘with a certain kind of poise and dignity but not exactly slower’ Agitando ‘in a kind of furious way (hit hard)’/‘ease down’ Adagio cantabile
  2. Piano Sonata No. 1: IIa. Allegro moderato (1st Verse) – Andante (1st Chorus)
  3. Piano Sonata No. 1 IIb. ‘In the Inn’: Allegro (2nd Verse) – Meno mosso (2nd Chorus)
  4. Piano Sonata No. 1: III. Largo – Allegro – Largo
  5. Piano Sonata No. 1: IVa. (crotchet = 88–100) ‘a study in “Rag” for 5s, 3s and 2s together’
  6. Piano Sonata No. 1: IVb. Allegro – Presto (as fast as possible) – Slow
  7. Piano Sonata No. 1: V. Andante maestoso – A tempo (Andante or Allegretto) ‘più animato’ – Adagio cantabile – Allegro – Andante (or Allegro moderato con brio)
  8. Piano Sonata No. 2 'Concord, Mass': I. Emerson (‘a composite picture or impression’)
  9. Piano Sonata No. 2 ‘Concord, Mass': II. Hawthorne (‘an “extended fragment”, reflecting “some of his wilder, fantastical adventures into the half childlike, half fairy-like phantasmal realms”’)
  10. Piano Sonata No. 2 ‘Concord, Mass': III. The Alcotts (‘a sketch’)
  11. Piano Sonata No. 2 ‘Concord, Mass': IV. Thoreau (‘an autumn day of Indian Summer at Walden’) With Eleonore Pameijer flute