J.C. Bach & Mozart: Concert Arias

J.C. Bach & Mozart: Concert Arias
Composer Johann Christian Bach, Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Artist Hjördis Thébault soprano
Hiroko Kouda soprano
Gustáv Belácek bass baritone
Solamente Naturali
Didier Talpain conductor
Format 1 CD
Cat. number 94116
EAN code 5028421941165
Release February 2011

Buy online

  • Buy at Amazon




Download & streams

Other buying options

About this release

The origin of the dialogue between a solo voice and several obbligati instruments dates from the early baroque period (1600), and probably emerged from the hum drum setting of the market square where a singer would perform to the accompaniment of a few wind instruments. More refined relations of this musical form soon could be found in sacred and operatic works. This CD contains the complete obbligato arias by master and pupil – J.C Bach and Mozart. Therefore we can hear examples of the pre classical (1750-75) and the classical period (1775-1820).

There is one undisputed masterpiece here – Mozart’s Ch’io mi scordi di te? K505 for soprano and piano. The aria is an expression of personal sadness. Nancy Storace, the first Susanna in Figaro, had left Mozart and returned to London. This is no operatic love affair gone wrong, but a real life one. Mozart himself is represented by the piano, Nancy by the stunning soprano role.

Mozart’s friend and teacher J.C. Bach has a world premiere recording on this CD. His aria Sventura in van mi lagno of 1773 is an impressive virtuoso work for high soprano with two obbligato horns. One the players J.C Bach wrote for was none other than Giovanni Punto, hence the extremely challenging nature of the horn part for a natural horn.

Other information:
- Recorded in 2008, for the first time complete on CD: substantial, large-scale concert arias, in wich a solo instrument plays a counterpart against the voice, a kind of Sinfonia Concertante with an instrument and voice as soloists. Including a world premiere of a major 12 minute J.C Bach aria.
- Mozart had great respect for the Johann Christian Bach (the youngest son of J.S.) and even in his youth copies and arranged works of him. The infuence therefore is obvious.
- Beautiful period-instrument performance by the Solamente Naturali, performing on period instruments, led by Didier Talpain, who already made more and highly acclaimed recordings for Brilliant: Hummel: Mathilde and C.P.E. Bach Hamburg Symphonies.

Track list

Disk 1

  1. Johann Christian Bach: Ebben, si vada for soprano, oboe, fortepiano and orchestra(1 oboe ripieno, 1 bassoon, 2 horns in D, strings)
  2. Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Ah, lo previdi, K 272, for soprano, oboe and orchestra (1 oboe ripieno, 2 horns in E flat, strings)
  3. Johann Christian Bach: Sentimi, non partir, for soprano, 2 cellos, fortepiano and orchestra (2 flutes, 2 clarinets in B flat, 2 horns in E flat, strings)
  4. Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Per questa bella mano, K 612, for bass,double bass and orchestra (1 flute,2 oboes,2 bassoons,2 horns in D,strings)
  5. Johann Christian Bach: Sventurata, in van mi legno for soprano, 2 horns and orchestra (2 flutes, strings) Cadenzas:Didier Talpain
  6. Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Ch’io mi scordi di te, K 505, for soprano, fortepiano and orchestra (2 clarinetsin B flat, 2 bassoons, 2 horns in E flat, strings)
  7. Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Non più…Tutto ascoltai, K 490, for soprano, violin and orchestra (2 clarinetsin B flat, 2 bassoons, 2 horns in B flat, strings)