Liszt: Complete Hungarian Rhapsodies

Liszt: Complete Hungarian Rhapsodies
Composer Franz Liszt
Artist Artur Pizarro piano
Format 2 CD
Cat. number 92790
EAN code 5028421927909
Release April 2006

Buy online

  • Buy at Amazon




Download & streams

  • Download at Spotify
  •  Buy at iTunes

Other buying options

About this release

They are a rarity: complete issues of Listz’s 19 Hungarian Rhapsodies. Especially the later ones written at the end of Liszt’s life are hardly ever recorded. The numbers 16 to 19 seem to be less popular with pianists. Too difficult?

A new recording by pianist Artur Pizarro. This Portugese musician was winner of the Leeds International Piano Competition in 1990. He is always in for a challenge. Two years ago he performed all 32 of Beethoven’s sonatas live in front of an audience in 8 concerts. Pizarro has already made many very well-received recordings for several prominent labels.

Pizarro is renowned for his lyrical poeticism and outstanding virtuosity which makes him an ideal performer of Liszt’s music. The colourful rhapsodies are reverberating with the composer’s utter admiration for gypsy music. They sound truly Hungarian and rhapsodic under Pizarro’s hands.

Track list

Disk 1

  1. No. 1 in C-Sharp Minor
  2. No. 2 in C-Sharp Minor
  3. No. 3 in B-Flat Major
  4. No. 4 in E-Flat Major
  5. No. 5 in E Minor, “Héroide élégiaque”
  6. No. 6 in D-Flat Major
  7. No. 7 in D Minor
  8. No. 8 in F-Sharp Minor
  9. No. 9 in E-Flat Major, “Pesther Carneval”

Disk 2

  1. No. 10 in E Major
  2. No. 11 in A Minor
  3. No. 12 in C-Sharp Minor
  4. No. 13 in A Minor
  5. No. 14 in F Minor
  6. No. 15 in A Minor, “Rákóczy March”
  7. No. 16 in A Minor
  8. No. 17 in D Minor
  9. No. 18 in F-Sharp Minor
  10. No. 19 in D Minor