Music for flute and organ

Music for flute and organ
Artist Daniele Ruggieri, Andrea Toschi
Format 1 CD
Cat. number 95011
EAN code 5028421950112
Release January 2015

Buy online

  • Buy at Amazon




Download & streams

Other buying options

About this release

With a repertoire spanning almost 150 years, from 1844 right up to 1992, this release brings together a wide range of works for flute and organ by composers from a variety of countries and musical backgrounds. During the Baroque period, it was common to pair the flute (or recorder) with the harpsichord; the combination here of flute and organ is by contrast far more exotic, the great power of which the latter instrument is capable pitted against the domestic nature of the former. The works on this release are all rare gems, showing just how well these two diverse timbres are able to complement each other – and at the same time revealing the great skill of many lesser-known composers.

While the music on this release spans a large period of time, many of the works share a common thread of religion spirituality. German composer Hiller uses a Lutheran hymn as inspiration for his work Andante religioso, and the pieces by French composers Caplet and Gallon are both infused with a deep sense of mysticism, particularly pertinent as Caplet retreated to a monastery later in life. The religious theme continues into the more contemporary works by Italian composers D’Aurizio and Lincetto; the former was a noted composer of sacred music throughout his life, and Lincetto’s work Messa degli artisti is a modern take on a traditional meditative prayer.

Daniele Ruggieri and Andrea Toschi, who have a longstanding partnership, are delighted to be collaborating on this recording. Ruggieri has an active career as a flautist, with over 20 recordings to boast of, and has been awarded several major and international prizes. His ensemble Ex Novo, of which he is a founding member, has been critically acclaimed, with The Times describing Ruggieri’s flute playing as a “beautiful and playful display of virtuosity”. Toschi has performed on organs all over Europe, both as a soloist and as an ensemble player, and has already released several albums of works for both trumpet and violin with organ. Both performers have broadcast on major networks, including the BBC and Italy’s RAI Radio 3.

An enterprising and original programme of works originally written for flute and organ by a wide variety of composers, spanning more than 150 years (not the usual compilation of Baroque lollipops like the Albinoni/Adagio or the Bach/Air!).
Featuring are works by composers Hartmann, Lachner, Donjon, Doppler, Hiller, Gallon, Genzmer, d’Aurizio, Manzino. They explore the rich possibilities and diverse qualities of the two instruments in a fascinating way, sharing a spiritual or liturgical background.
Superbly played by Daniele Ruggieri, flute (“beautiful and playful display of virtuosity” The Times) and Andrea Toschi, organ.
Recorded in Padua. Booklet contains extensive liner notes, biographies and specifications of the organ.

Other information:

Recorded in 2013 in Padua, Italy.
Contains extensive liner notes on the music and composers.
Contains biographies of the artists.
Contains full organ specifications.

Track list

Disk 1

  1. Praeludium for Flute and Organ in G Minor
  2. Elegie
  3. Invocation
  4. Offertoire, Op. 12
  5. Idylle “l’oiseau des bois”, Op. 21
  6. Andante religioso, Op. 6
  7. Feuillets d’album: IV. Invocation
  8. Recueillement
  9. Sei brani liturgici: I. Introduzione
  10. Sei brani liturgici: II. Offertorio
  11. Sei brani liturgici: III. Pezzo semplice
  12. Sei brani liturgici: IV. Sanctus
  13. Sei brani liturgici: V. Preghiera in C Major
  14. Sei brani liturgici: VI. Adagio
  15. Due melodie facili: I. Andantino
  16. Due melodie facili: II. Andantino
  17. Adagio (1990)
  18. Messa degli artisti (1980): Preghiera dell’artista
  19. Messa degli artisti (1980): Elevazione
  20. Sonata for Flute and Organ(1992): I. Adagio
  21. Sonata for Flute and Organ(1992): II. Allegretto