Novecento Guitar Sonatas

Novecento Guitar Sonatas
Artist Cristiano Porqueddu guitar
Format 5 CD
Cat. number 9455
EAN code 5029365945523
Release July 2014

Buy online

  • Buy at Amazon

Download & streams

Other buying options

About this release

Pioneering guitarist Cristiano Porqueddu follows his fascinating set of Novecento Guitar Preludes – released on Brilliant Classics in 2012 and hailed by MusicWeb International as ‘a most compelling collection [where] the guitar is placed on a par with other classical instruments: something to be treated seriously’ – with this equally intriguing selection of 20th-century guitar sonatas. Featuring a wealth of world premiere recordings, the collection is yet another showcase for Porqueddu’s spirit of adventure.

Once again, Porqueddu takes us on a colourful journey that passes through all kinds of different styles and moods: from Gilbert Biberian’s fusion of traditional formal structures with the dance and folk music of the Middle East to Franco Cavallone’s four sonatas that are inspired by such diverse influences as Ravel, Ponce, Bernstein and the 20th-century Italian composers Frazzi and Lupi; from Angelo Gilardino’s evocative sonatas that recall great Italian paintings and warm Mediterranean winter days to Georges Migot’s refined and virtuosic sonata, to name just a few examples. And one of the many world premiere recordings featured here is an exciting new sonata by Porqueddu himself.

Cristiano Porqueddu, described as "a point of reference for the new generation of guitarists", graduated from the Lorenzo Perosi International Academy in Biella, Italy. With an extensive knowledge of the technique and interpretation of 19th- and 20th-century music, he has won numerous international awards and now sits on the jury of several major guitar competitions. Porqueddu has made many acclaimed recordings for Brilliant Classics.

Other information:
- A fascinating survey of 20th century sonatas written for solo guitar, including 13 world premiere recordings.
- Another great and original project of guitarist Cristiano Porqueddu, “a point of Reference for the new generation of guitarists”, bringing together a wide range of guitar sonatas by Baev, Biberian, Porqueddu, Cavallone,Manén, Migot, Gilardino, Rózsa. A journey through wildly differing styles, from Impressionism to Expressionism, from the simple to the complex, from the folkloristic and descriptive to absolute music.
- “A most compelling collection placing the guitar on absolute par with other classical instruments-something to be treated seriously”, wrote Musicweb about Porqueddu’s collection of Novecento Guitar Preludes, and that applies also to this new set of sonatas, an important collection for scholars, guitarists and music lovers alike.
- Booklet features extensive work-by-work liner notes and artist biography.

Track list

Disk 1

  1. Sonata No. 1: I. Allegretto
  2. Sonata No. 1: II. Lento
  3. Sonata No. 1: III. Allegretto
  4. Sonata No. 2: I. Allegro
  5. Sonata No. 2: II. Adagio
  6. Sonata No. 2: III. Paseos y Fuga. Allegro
  7. Sonata No. 3
  8. Sonata No. 4

Disk 2

  1. Sonata No. 1: I. Allegro moderato
  2. Sonata No. 1: II. Adagietto ritmico
  3. Sonata No. 1: III. Allegro moderato
  4. Sonata No. 2: I. Moderato
  5. Sonata No. 2: II. Adagio non troppo
  6. Sonata No. 2: III. Allegro
  7. Sonata No. 3: I. Moderato
  8. Sonata No. 3: II. Lento ma teso
  9. Sonata No. 3: III. Allegro
  10. Sonata No. 4: I. Allegro moderato
  11. Sonata No. 4: II. Andante
  12. Sonata No. 4: III. Andante mosso

Disk 3

  1. Sonate pour guitare: I. Prélude
  2. Sonate pour guitare: II. Allant
  3. Sonate pour guitare: III. Andante
  4. Sonate pour guitare: IV. Final
  5. Sonata No. 1 (Allegro - Andantino - Allegretto)
  6. Fantasia-Sonata Op. A=22
  7. Sonata Classica: I. Vivo
  8. Sonata Classica: II. Andante, molto espressivo
  9. Sonata Classica: III. Allegro con brio
  10. Sonata Classica: IV. Animato
  11. Sonata Classica: IV. Allegro (New Version)

Disk 4

  1. Sonata No. 1: I. Allegro mariziale
  2. Sonata No. 1: II. Andante
  3. Sonata No. 1: III. Andantino quasi allegretto
  4. Sonata No. 1: IV. Moderato assai ritmico
  5. Sonata No. 2 “Hivern Florit”: I. Allegretto semplice
  6. Sonata No. 2 “Hivern Florit”: II. Andante molto tranquillo quasi adagio
  7. Sonata No. 2 “Hivern Florit”: III. Allegro vivo e brillante
  8. Sonata No. 1 “Des couleurs sur la toile”: I. Les fleurs imaginaires
  9. Sonata No. 1 “Des couleurs sur la toile”: II. Chanson au crépuscule
  10. Sonata No. 1 “Des couleurs sur la toile”: III. La terre de lumières
  11. Sonata for Guitar, Op. 42: I. Moderato
  12. Sonata for Guitar, Op. 42: II. Molto moderato, quasi una canzone
  13. Sonata for Guitar, Op. 42: III. Allegro frenetico

Disk 5

  1. Sonata Mediterranea: I. I Cipressi
  2. Sonata Mediterranea: II. Ninna Nanna
  3. Sonata Mediterranea: III. Pini sul mare
  4. Sonata del Guadalquivir: I. Memorias
  5. Sonata del Guadalquivir: II. Leyendas
  6. Sonata del Guadalquivir: III. Lejanías
  7. Sonata di Lagonegro: I. Delle Campane
  8. Sonata di Lagonegro: II. Lauda in Santa Maria degli Angeli
  9. Sonata di Lagonegro: III. Levantina