Pergolesi: Stabat Mater - Salve Regina

Pergolesi: Stabat Mater - Salve Regina
Composer Giovanni Battista Pergolesi
Artist Angharad Gruffydd Jones soprano
Lawrence Zazzo countertenor
Instrumental ensemble
Timothy Brown organ and concert master
Format 1 CD
Cat. number 93952
EAN code 5028421939520
Release July 2009

Buy online

  • Buy at Amazon




Download & streams

  • Download at Spotify
  •  Buy at iTunes

Other buying options

About this release

During his short life of 26 years, Giovanni Battista Pergolesi produced two works that have ensured his name lives on as one of the great Baroque composers: the comic opera La serva padrona (The Maid as Mistress) and the Stabat Mater recorded on this CD. He wrote much more music – sadly the bulk of this is
lost and after his death the heavy demand for his music lead to publishers passing off works by lesser composers as being by Pergolesi. Recent study has suggested that of the 150 works published in his name, only about one in five is a genuine Pergolesi.

The Stabat Mater was composed in the last two months of his life, in 1736 at the Franciscan monastery near Pozzuoli. Initially the work attracted criticism as it cast conventional religious musical styles aside, and, to many listeners, it sounded more like operatic music set to a religious text. It is possible to detect the world of opera in some of the numbers, but the critics were being unfair. The predominating minor key gives the work a serious character befitting the text. What Pergolesi achieved was to tie music and text together in an emotional bond that is both very effective and touching.

The work was published with many examples of the tampering that afflicted much of Pergolesi’s music. For example, oboes were added to the score. This recording is of the original version.

Other information:
- Booklet notes and sung texts included.

Track list

Disk 1

  1. Stabat Mater: Stabat Mater dolorosa
  2. Stabat Mater: Cujus animam gememtem
  3. Stabat Mater: O quam tristis et afflicta
  4. Stabat Mater: Quae moerabat et dolebat
  5. Stabat Mater: Quis est homo qui non fleret
  6. Stabat Mater: Vidit suum dulcem natum
  7. Stabat Mater: Eia Mater, fons amoris
  8. Stabat Mater: Fac, ut ardeat cor meum
  9. Stabat Mater: Sancta Mater, istud agas
  10. Stabat Mater: Fac, ut portem Christi mortem
  11. Stabat Mater: Inflammatus et accensus
  12. Stabat Mater: Quando corpus morietur
  13. Salve Regina in C Minor: Salve Regina
  14. Salve Regina in C Minor: Ad te clamamus
  15. Salve Regina in C Minor: Eia ergo, advocata nostra
  16. Et Jesum
  17. O clemens, o pia