Pujol: Complete Guitar Duos

Pujol: Complete Guitar Duos
Composer Maximo Diego Pujol
Artist Giorgio Mirto
Victor Villadangos
Format 1 CD
Cat. number 9088
EAN code 5029365908825
Release August 2009

Buy online

  • Buy at Amazon

Download & streams

Other buying options

About this release

Maximo Diego Pujol is a native of Buenos Aires, and was born in 1957. His music is inspired by the sights, sounds, and smells of that great city. Depictions of card games, the shady tree lined streets and of course the Tango are all to be found in his music.

The use of traditional or folk music in classical music has a long
and dignified history. Bach raised the humble gavotte and gigue to an art form in his suites, Chopin turned the Polonaise into a rallying cry for Polish nationalism when the country was suffering at the hands of oppressive neighbouring states. Bartók, Kodály and Vaughan Williams in the 20th century rescued traditional music from their respective countries from oblivion and drew on the wealth of material for their compositions. Pujol also introduces traditional rhythms of the milonga, candombe and chacarera, and he is a natural successor to Piazzolla.

Other information:
- A major release for lovers of classical guitar.
- Recorded in 2008.
- Booklet notes included.

Track list

Disk 1

  1. Tango, milonga y final: I. Tango de Abril
  2. Tango, milonga y final: II. Milonga de Junio
  3. Tango, milonga y final: III. Final Feliz
  4. Tiempo del hombre: I. Andante
  5. Tiempo del hombre: II. Rápido (tempo de chacarera)
  6. Truco Suite: I. Primera
  7. Truco Suite: II. Falta envido
  8. Truco Suite: III.Truco
  9. Truco Suite: IV. Vale cuatro
  10. Tres piezas de Otoño: I. Arbolado
  11. Tres piezas de Otoño: II. Sombrío
  12. Tres piezas de Otoño: III. Avenida Centenario
  13. Tres piezas de Otoño: Cafè para dos
  14. Sonatina caótica: I. Allegro
  15. Sonatina caótica: II. Andante
  16. Sonatina caótica: III. Presto