Rachmaninoff: Vespers

Rachmaninoff: Vespers
Composer Sergei Rachmaninoff
Artist National Academic Choir Ukraine "Dumka"
Yevhen Savchuk conductor
Format 1 CD
Cat. number 9100
EAN code 5029365910026
Release July 2009

Buy online

  • Buy at Amazon




Download & streams

  • Download at Spotify
  •  Buy at iTunes

Other buying options

About this release

Rachmaninoff was not a great churchgoer, and in fact had stopped going completely by the time he composed his Vespers, and his other great a cappella work, the Liturgy of St John Chrysostom op.31. Nevertheless, he retained a love for and interest in the ecclesiastical chant, and perhaps the most famous of these, the Dies irae, appears in his First Symphony and the late Symphonic Dances of 1940.

Rachmaninoff, like his great predecessor Tchaikovsky, was very critical of his own music, but he considered the Vespers and his choral symphony The Bells among his favourites. The Vespers had to wait until 1965 for the first recording due to the Soviet anti-religion stance. Even then it was released for export only.

Russian Orthodox Church music never fails to move and stir the emotions, whether one is religious or not. Rachmaninoff ’s Vespers, like many of his most popular works, does not disappoint in its emotional impact and sincerity.

Other information:
- Recorded in 2000.
- Booklet essay and sung texts included.

Track list

Disk 1

  1. Vespers, Op. 37: Come, Let Us Worship
  2. Vespers, Op. 37: Bless the Lord, O my soul
  3. Vespers, Op. 37: Blessed be the man
  4. Vespers, Op. 37: O serene light
  5. Vespers, Op. 37: Now let Thy servant depart
  6. Vespers, Op. 37: Rejoice, O Virgin
  7. Vespers, Op. 37: Glory to God in the highest
  8. Vespers, Op. 37: Praise the name of the Lord
  9. Vespers, Op. 37: Blessed art Thou, O Lord
  10. Vespers, Op. 37: Having seen the Resurrection of the Lord
  11. Vespers, Op. 37: My soul magnifies the Lord
  12. Vespers, Op. 37: Glory to God in the highest
  13. Vespers, Op. 37: Troparia of the day of salvation
  14. Vespers, Op. 37: Christ is risen from the grave
  15. Vespers, Op. 37: Thanksgiving to the Mother of God