Rebay: Complete Music for Clarinet & Guitar

Rebay: Complete Music for Clarinet & Guitar
Composer Ferdinand Rebay
Artist Luigi Magistrelli clarinet
Massimo Laura guitar
Format 1 CD
Cat. number 94171
EAN code 5028421941714
Release April 2011

Buy online

  • Buy at Amazon




Download & streams

  • Download at Spotify
  •  Buy at iTunes

Other buying options

About this release

Here’s a genuine rarity: Ferdinand Rebay (1878-1953) has been hitherto unknown outside a small circle of guitar connoiseurs, but that should change thanks to this attractive set of sonatas and dances, all receiving their first recordings at the hands of two talented young Italian musicians. Rebay was Viennese born and bred. In 1901 he entered the piano class of Joseph Hofmann at the Vienna Conservatory and studied composition with the eminent pedagogue Robert Fuchs, who counted Mahler, Wolf, Sibelius and von Zemlinsky among his students.

Four years later, when leaving the Conservatory with a distinction in composition, Rebay's catalogue already numbered around 100 works, including a piano concerto dedicated to Prof. Hofmann. He continued to compose prolifically, mainly in the area of vocal music, pro-ducing around 100 choral works, 400 Lieder and two operas. After the Anschluss in 1938, Rebay lost his teaching positions as well as his pension and was reintegrated only in 1945, a few months before his definite retirement. Rebay's interest in writing for the guitar was triggered by his niece, the guitarist Gerta Hammerschmid (1906-1985) and by her teacher, his friend and colleague at the Musikakademie, Jakob Ortner (1879-1959), who probably introduced him to the technical possibilities of the instrument. He died, almost forgotten, in Vienna in 1953.

Among Rebay's most ambitious and important guitar works are the duos for guitar and a string or wind instrument. Substantial works, with a duration between 15 and 25 minutes, these duos have no match in the guitar repertoire; the Sonatas on this disc are among their number, and complemented by stylish arrangements made by Rebay of several of Beethoven’s German Dances. The scarce original repertoire for clarinet and guitar, limited during the 19th century essentially to Heinrich Neumann's six serenades is almost trebled by Rebay's substantial contribution.

• World Premiere Recordings
• Detailed booklet notes on Rebay’s life and work

Track list

Disk 1

  1. Drei Vortragsstücke: I. Praeludium
  2. Drei Vortragsstücke: II. Villanelle mit Variationen
  3. Drei Vortragsstücke: III. Rondo Walzer
  4. Beethoven arr. Rebay: Dance, No. 4 from 12 Deutsche Tänze, WoO 8
  5. Kleine Variationen, on a theme from Chopin’s Préludes, Op. 28
  6. Beethoven arr. Rebay: Dance No. 5 from 12 Deutsche Tänze, WoO 8
  7. Sonata in D Minor: I. Allegro molto moderato
  8. Sonata in D Minor: II. Thema und Variationen
  9. Sonata in D Minor: III. Tanz Rondo
  10. Beethoven arr. Rebay: Dance No. 7 from 12 Deutsche Tänze, WoO 8
  11. Sonata in A Minor: I. Sehr ruhig und Leise beginnend
  12. Sonata in A Minor: II. Variations on the ‘Volksliedchen’ from Schumann’s Album für die Jugend
  13. Sonata in A Minor: III. Scherzo
  14. Sonata in A Minor: IV. Finale: Allegretto moderato
  15. Sonatina in B-Flat: I. Mässig Bewegt
  16. Sonatina in B-Flat: II. Ruhig und Drucksvoll
  17. Sonatina in B-Flat: III. Leichtbewegt mit Humor Rondo