Sammartini: Late Symphonies Vol. I

Sammartini: Late Symphonies Vol. I
Composer Giovanni Battista Sammartini
Artist Accademia d’Arcadia
Alessandra Rossi Lürig conductor
Format 1 SACD
Cat. number 93610
EAN code 5028421936109
Release April 2006

Buy online

  • Buy at Amazon




Download & streams

  • Download at Spotify

Other buying options

About this release

The first recordings of late symphonies by G.B. Sammartini, ‘the father of the classical style’. Although Sammartini laid the foundations of the symphony his works are virtually unknown. In Italy the Arcadia Foundation seeks to correct this. The Sammartini project set out to publish and catalogue the composer’s works. Another aim is to perform and record previously unpublished works, including the late symphonies.

There are 68 symphonies attributed to Sammartini with certainty. Another 74 might be by him as well. This release is the first of two volumes containing four late symphonies and a quintet.

Stylish performances by the Accademia d’Arcadia on period instruments under Alessandra Rossi Lürig. These first recordings offer a most enjoyable and interesting insight into this unjustly neglected composer.

Track list

Disk 1

  1. Presto
  2. Andante piano
  3. Presto
  4. Presto
  5. Assai andante
  6. Allegrissimo
  7. Allegrissimo
  8. Allegrino
  9. Allegro moderato
  10. Allegro assai
  11. Andante
  12. Allegro spiritoso e brillante
  13. Allegro moderato
  14. Allegrino
  15. Allegro brillante