Sturla: Passio di Venerdi Santo

Sturla: Passio di Venerdi Santo
Composer Carlo Sturla
Artist Il Concento Ecclesiastico
Luca Franco Ferrari conductor
Format 1 CD
Cat. number 94184
EAN code 5028421941844
Release March 2011

Buy online

  • Buy at Amazon

Download & streams

  • Download at Spotify
  •  Buy at iTunes

Other buying options

About this release

We don’t know much about Carlo Sturla, not even the dates of his birth and death, and he is absent from Google – quite an achievement! The sole reference to him is in the register of the Convent of Santa Brigida belonging to the Sisters of the Sacred Heart. Sturla worked here, but apparently his assiduous attendance upon and training of the young women under his tutelage was viewed with some suspicion.

His Passio di Venerdi di Venerdi di Santo displays a thorough appreciation of contemporary Genovese opera, with recitatives reserved for the dramatic content as was the fashion at the time. The arias therefore do not depict the drama and action, but relay rather vague emotions and feelings. His vocal writing requires agility, and the mocking chorus depicting the crowd reveal a theatrical yearning. The style is simple and the musical writing is linear, but the overall effect is one of delicate lyricism, and graceful but never excessive virtuosity.

This work was probably composed for Holy Week, and any religious establishment that boasted its own choir would often commission local composers to provide music for the services during this busy week. Sturla and his young choir would have been ideal candidates for such a task.

Other information:
• Recording made in Genoa in 2006
• World premiere recording
• Period instruments
• Booklet notes and sung texts

Track list

Disk 1

  1. Cantus firmus: Passio Domini Nostri
  2. Coro: Iesum Nazarenum!
  3. Cantus firmus: Dicit eis Iesus
  4. Recitativo: Iesum Nazarenum!
  5. Cantus firmus: Ut impleretur sermo
  6. Aria: Numquid et tu
  7. Cantus firmus / Recitativo: Dicit ille / Non sum
  8. Aria: Sic respondes pontifici?
  9. Cantus firmus: Respondit ei Iesus
  10. Coro: Numquid et tu
  11. Cantus firmus / Recitativo: Negavit ille / Non sum
  12. Aria: Nonne ego te vidi
  13. Cantus firmus: Iterum ergo
  14. Aria: Quam accusationem affertis
  15. Coro: Si non esset hic malefactor
  16. Aria: Accipite eum vos
  17. Coro: Nobis non licet interficere
  18. Cantus firmus / Recitativo: Ut sermo Iesu / Tu es rex
  19. Aria / Recitativo: Numquid ego / Ergo rex
  20. Aria: Ego nullam invenio
  21. Cantus firmus / Recitativo: Clamaverunt ergo / Non hunc
  22. Coro: Ave, rex Iudaeorum
  23. Aria: Ecce adduco vobis
  24. Cantus firmus / Recitativo: Exivit ergo Iesus / Ecce homo
  25. Coro: Crucufige, crucifige eum!
  26. Recitativo / Aria: Accipite eum vos / Ego enim non invenio
  27. Cantus firmus / Coro: Responderunt ei / Nos legem habemus
  28. Cantus firmus / Recitativo: Cum ergo audisset / Unde es tu?
  29. Coro: Si hunc dimittis
  30. Cantus firmus / Recitativo: Pilatus autem / Ecce rex vester
  31. Coro: Tolle, tolle crucifige
  32. Cantus firmus / Recitativo: Dicit eis / Regem vestrum
  33. Coro: Non habemus regem
  34. Cantus firmus: Tunc ergo tradidit
  35. Duetto: Noli scrivere rex Iudaeorum
  36. Cantus firmus: Respondit Pilatus
  37. Coro: Non scindamus eam