The American Symphonic Organ

The American Symphonic Organ
Composer Béla Bartók, Claude Debussy, Franz Liszt, Gustav Mahler, Georges Bizet, Isaac Albéniz, Jean-Baptiste Robin, Samuel Barber, Sergei Rachmaninoff
Artist Jean-Baptiste Robin organ
Format 1 CD
Cat. number 94726
EAN code 5028421947266
Release November 2013

Buy online

  • Buy at Amazon




Download & streams

  • Download at Spotify
  •  Buy at iTunes

Other buying options

About this release

Here's a new organ spectacular worthy of the tradition, recorded in 2011 on the mighty EM Skinner organ of Cincinnati Museum Center at Union Terminal (Ohio, USA). The organ is maintained to a superb standard by its curator, Harley V. Piltingsrud, and putting the instrument through its paces with a selection that maintains the venerable tradition of organ arrangements is Jean-Baptiste Robin (1976), one of the most prominent French organists and composers of his generation who studied with Marie-Claire Alain and Olivier Latry.

Robin has made his own arrangements of music that ranges from the elegiac Adagio of Samuel Barber to the mighty Prelude in C sharp minor Op. 3, No.2 that made Rachmaninov's name, taking in Debussy's lush Prélude à l'après-midi d'un faune and monumental La cathédrale engloutie. There is even room among the Cincinatti organ’s huge range of colours for Romanian folk dances by Bartók and ‘Urlicht’ by Mahler, which became the still turning point of his mighty ‘Resurrection’ Symphony. Concluding the recital are two original organ works, Liszt's contrapuntal tribute to Bach and Robin's own ‘Distant Circles’.

Other information:
- A showcase of one of America’s most spectacular symphonic organs, the EM Skinner organ of the Cincinnati Museum.
- Jean-Baptiste Robin, one of France’s foremost organists and pupil of Marie-Clair Alain and Olivier Latry, wrote his own arrangements of a wildly varying and unashamedly popular selection of works by Albeniz, Barber (the famous Adagio!), Bizet, Bartók, Debussy (incredible colours in the Prélude à l’apres-midi d’un faune!), Liszt, Mahler (Urlicht, sung by a real soprano!), and Rachmaninoff.
- A fascinating demonstration of power and subtlety, pump and serenity!
- Booklet note by Jean-Baptiste Robin and full organ specification.

Track list

Disk 1

  1. Préludes Book 1, L. 117: No. 10, La cathédrale engloutie
  2. Suite Española No. 1, Op. 47: No. 5, Leyenda. Asturias
  3. Prélude à l’après-midi d’un faune, L. 86
  4. Six Romanian Folk Dances, Sz 56: I. Joc cu bâta. Allegro moderato - II. Brâul. Allegro - III. Pê-loc. Andante - IV. Buciumeana. Moderato - V. Poarga româneasca. Allegro - VI. Maruntel. Allegro
  5. Carmen, Act 2, WD 31: Entr’acte
  6. Adagio for strings, Op. 11
  7. 5 Morceaux de fantaisie, Op. 3: No. 2, Prelude in C-Sharp Minor
  8. Symphony No. 2: IV. Urlicht
  9. Prelude and Fugue on BACH, S. 260
  10. Cercles Réfléchissants: No. 7, Cercles Lointains