Veracini: Violin Sonatas from Unpublished Manuscripts

Veracini: Violin Sonatas from Unpublished Manuscripts
Composer Francesco Maria Veracini
Artist Valerio Losito violin
Federico del Sordo harpsichord
Format 1 CD
Cat. number 94822
EAN code 5028421948225
Release August 2014

Buy online

  • Buy at Amazon




Download & streams

  • Download at Spotify
  •  Buy at iTunes

Other buying options

About this release

Francesco Maria Veracini (1690–1768) was one of the foremost violinists of his time, and he appears to have led a rather adventurous life; travelling a great deal, surviving a fall from the second floor of a house, and then losing all that he owned in a shipwreck! All this has made for a great deal of literature on the composer, and here we have the opportunity to become acquainted with a number of his violin sonatas which remained unpublished during his lifetime, including hitherto unrecorded repertoire.

Guiding artist Valerio Losito’s approach to these works is the implementation of his tripartite scheme to know, to understand and to interpret. In the case of works such as the Sonata for Solo Violin in A major, brilliant in style and clearly an original composition, this proves essential, as the issue surrounding the middle movement’s division into two staves, violin and basso, is explained when we realise that the melody and accompaniment can both by effected on the violin. Veracini’s style is virtuosic, as one would expect, and his handling of harmony and structure is highly individual. Also included on the compilation are three canons, two from the composer’s treatise Il trionfo della pratica musica (composed around 1765 as his ‘Opera Terza’ but never published) and one from the Sonate Accademiche of 1744, in the guise of a poetic couplet that seems to sum up the composer’s own life experience. A handful of engaging Preludes, for either harpsichord or violin, complete the collection.

Violinist Valerio Losito offers a highly stylised, character-laden performance, drawing attention through the implementation of his scheme to what is for him the most important aspect of music: its ‘human nature’ – in other words its original message – one which connects our time with that of Veracini, rendering the composer immortal. He is joined on the recording by early music expert and harpsichordist Federico Del Sordo.

Other information:
- Francesco Veracini (1690-1768) was a famous violinist in his time, a travelling virtuoso and composer of several treatises on composition and violin technique.
- Veracini’s style is rich, dramatic and highly personal, expressing his life philosophy in his music, as is explained in the booklet text by violinist Valerio Losito, who studied unpublished manuscripts, trying to understand and interpret the fascinating annotations.
- Beautiful and committed performances by these two Italians Early Music specialists, Valerio Losito and cembalist Federico Del Sordo, who wrote the extensive liner notes.
- Release features a world premiere recording and several first commercial recordings.
- Booklet features notes on the music, a list of manuscript sources and artist biographies.

Track list

Disk 1

  1. Sonata in D Minor: I. Andante
  2. Sonata in D Minor: II. Allegro
  3. Sonata in D Minor: III. Adagio
  4. Sonata in D Minor: IV. Allegro
  5. Il trionfo della pratica musicale: Canon “Indovinala grillo” from Il trionfo della pratica musicale, Florence, c.1765
  6. Prelude in G Major (Improvisation by F. Del Sordo)
  7. Sonata in G Major: I. Adagio
  8. Sonata in G Major: II. Presto
  9. Sonata in G Major: III. Largo
  10. Sonata in G Major: IV. Presto
  11. Il trionfo della pratica musicale: Canon “Chi semina virtù, fama raccoglie”
  12. Sonata in A Major: I. Allegro
  13. Sonata in A Major: II. Largo
  14. Sonata in A Major: III. Allegro
  15. Prelude in B-Flat Major (Improvisation by F. Del Sordo)
  16. Sonata in B-Flat Major: I. Overtura. Sostenuto – Allegro – Sostenuto
  17. Sonata in B-Flat Major: II. Allemande. Vivace
  18. Sonata in B-Flat Major: III. Corrente
  19. Sonata in B-Flat Major: IV. Cantabile
  20. Sonata in B-Flat Major: V. Giga. Allegro
  21. Prelude in D Minor (Improvisation by V. Losito)
  22. Sonata in D Minor: I. Andante
  23. Sonata in D Minor: II. Allegro
  24. Sonata in D Minor: III. Cantabile
  25. Sonata in D Minor: IV. Allegro
  26. Sonate Accademiche, Op. 2 (Canon “Ut relevet miserum fatum”)

On Youtube