Weber: Piano Sonatas Complete

Weber: Piano Sonatas Complete
Composer Carl Maria Von Weber
Artist Jan Vermeulen fortepiano
Format 2 CD
Cat. number 92441
EAN code 5028421924410
Release April 2006

Buy online

  • Buy at Amazon




Download & streams

  • Download at Spotify

Other buying options

About this release

The first recording on fortepiano (a beautiful Tröndlin of 1825) of these impressive piano sonatas of “The father of Romanticism”, Carl Maria von Weber.

Weber was a famous piano virtuoso, and his piano writing definitively gives testimony of this: brilliant scales and arpeggios, chord progressions, and passages in double thirds and sixths: hand breakers for lesser gifted pianists!

The sonatas are modelled on the structures and principles of the Classical style of Mozart and Beethoven, but the emotional language is 100% romantic, full of schwung and drama.
Jan Vermeulen specializes in the fortepiano, drawing the most amazing colours from his instrument.

Track list

Disk 1

  1. Allegro
  2. Adagio
  3. Menuetto
  4. Rondo, presto
  5. Allegro moderato,con spirito ed assai legato
  6. Andante
  7. Menuetto capriccioso: presto assai
  8. Rondo, moderato e molto grazioso

Disk 2

  1. Allegro feroce
  2. Andante con moto
  3. Rondo, presto
  4. Moderato
  5. Menuetto: presto vivace ed energico
  6. Andante quasi allegretto consolante
  7. Finale, prestissimo