D. & N.A. Strungk & P. Morhardt: Complete Organ Music

Composer Delphin Strungk, Nicolaus Adam Strungk, Peter Mohrhardt
Artist Manuel Tomadin organ
Format 2 CD
Cat. number 95758
EAN code 5028421957586
Release September 2019

Buy online

  • Buy at Amazon

Download & streams

Other buying options

About this release

In this release we dive headfirst into 17th-century Northern Germany, a time of innovation and experimentation in music for the organ. As these imposing instruments were installed in cathedrals across Europe, the repertoire flourished. Three composers grace this set: Delphin Strungk, his son Nicolaus Adam Strungk and Peter Mohrhardt, and their musical output sheds light on the transition period between the Renaissance and Baroque eras.

Delphin Strungk opens the set with an organ arrangement of a motet by Orlando di Lasso, a pioneer of the polyphonic style. Strungk was a highly respected organist and took up several posts during his lifetime including one as the court organist in Celle. His performances won him international acclaim and academics from across the continent would come to hear him play. Magnificat noni toni was a favourite of Duke Rudolph Augustus, Prince of Brunswick-Wolfenbüttel, who often came to Braunschweig to watch him play. Strungk explores the potential of the instrument and uses special echo effects in several pieces. It’s a technique also employed by Jan Pieterszoon Sweelinck, and it’s possible Strungk was one of his pupils.

Peter Mohrhardt moved in the same musical circles as Strungk but fewer of his compositions have survived, all of which are included here. His pieces reflect the influence of Sweelinck and Scheidemann, including echo effects, for example. However his music is also forward-looking, and the arrangements feature a highly ornamented cantus firmus, while the chorale fantasias show off the virtuosity of the performer, typical of Baroque keyboard music.

Nicolaus Adam Strungk was active at the same time as Mohrhardt. As the son of Delphin Strungk, he grew up under the guidance of his father and was employed by various members of the nobility, later performing for the emperor Leopold I. As the most modern composer of the three, technological advancements in organ building, such as the introduction of tempered tunings, allowed the composer to experiment with new tonalities. Admired by J.S. Bach, Strungk was influenced by Arcangelo Corelli, whom he met in Rome in 1685. This was the same year that Strungk learned of the death of his mother, inspiring his Ricercar sopra la morte della mia carissima Madre, whose melancholy melody bears clear signs of the Italian master’s influence.

This new recording presents three underestimated composers of the 17th century, a period of abundant experimentation in music. This was an era for innovation of organs, particular in Northern Germany where instruments of considerable size were being installed in important churches and cathedrals.
Another enterprising recording by Manuel Tomadin, one of the leading Italian organists of our day. He already made numerous recordings for Brilliant Classics, including works by Lübeck, Leyding, Kneller, Geist, Krebs, Alberti, the Husumer Orgelbuch and others.
Tomadin plays on two historic organs, the Arp Schnitger organ (ca. 1700) in Uithuizen and the Hans Scherer organ (ca. 1624) of St. Stephan in Tangermünde.
The booklet contains extensive liner notes on the composers as well as the disposition of the organs.


Track list

Disk 1

  1. Delphin Strungk: Tibi laus tibi gloria: I. Prima pars
  2. Delphin Strungk: Tibi laus tibi gloria: II. Secunda pars
  3. Delphin Strungk: Lass mich dein sein und bleiben in A Minor
  4. Delphin Strungk: Toccata ad manuale duplex
  5. Delphin Strungk: Ecce Maria genuit nobis: I. Prima pars
  6. Delphin Strungk: Ecce Maria genuit nobis: II. Secunda pars. Ecce agnus
  7. Delphin Strungk: Ich hab mein Sach Gott heimgestellt
  8. Delphin Strungk: Magnificat noni toni. Meine Seele erhebet den Herren in F Major: I. Primus versus. Pedaliter
  9. Delphin Strungk: Magnificat noni toni. Meine Seele erhebet den Herren in F Major: II. Secundus versus
  10. Delphin Strungk: Magnificat noni toni. Meine Seele erhebet den Herren in F Major: III. Tertius versus
  11. Delphin Strungk: Verbum caro factum est
  12. Delphin Strungk: Surrexit pastor bonus
  13. Peter Mohrhardt: Kyrie summum: I. Kyrie
  14. Peter Mohrhardt: Kyrie summum: II. Christe
  15. Peter Mohrhardt: Kyrie summum: III. Kyrie

Disk 2

  1. Peter Mohrhardt: Du Friedefürst, Herr Jesu Christ
  2. Peter Mohrhardt: Gelobet seist du, Jesu Christ
  3. Peter Mohrhardt: Was fürchtst du, Feind Herodes, sehr
  4. Peter Mohrhardt: Alle Welt, was lebet und webet
  5. Peter Mohrhardt: Allein zu dir, Herr Jesu Christ
  6. Peter Mohrhardt: Meine Seele erhebet den Herren: I. Primus versus. Manibus solis – Secundum versus. ad manuale duplex cum ped.
  7. Peter Mohrhardt: Wacht auf, ihr Christen alle
  8. Peter Mohrhardt: Aus tiefer Not schrei ich zu dir
  9. Peter Mohrhardt: Herr Gott, dich loben wir
  10. Nicolaus Adam Strungk: Capriccio della Chiave di G b. in G Minor
  11. Nicolaus Adam Strungk: Capriccio (II) della Chiave di A in A Minor
  12. Nicolaus Adam Strungk: Capriccio della Chiave di E in E Minor
  13. Nicolaus Adam Strungk: Capriccio della Chiave di F in F Major
  14. Nicolaus Adam Strungk: Capriccio della Chiave di A in A Minor
  15. Nicolaus Adam Strungk: Capriccio primi tuoni in D Minor
  16. Nicolaus Adam Strungk: Ricercar sopra la morte della mia carissima madre, Catharina Maria Stubenrauen, morsa â Brunsviga il 28 d’augusto a[nn]o 1685
  17. Nicolaus Adam Strungk: Capriccio sopra il corale “Ich dank Dir schon durch deinen Sohn”