Reis: Guitar Music

Composer Dilermando Reis
Artist Salvatore Fortunato guitar
Format 1 CD
Cat. number 95939
EAN code 5028421959399
Release April 2019

Buy online

  • Buy at Amazon

Download & streams

Other buying options

About this release

The sound of Rio: Songs by an icon of the Brazilian popular guitar, reinterpreted by an accomplished young Italian soloist.

The most famous Brazilian popular guitarist of the last century, Dilermando Reis (1916-1977) recorded over 40 albums between 1941 and 1975. These covered Bach, Barrios, Tárrega, as well as popular Brazilian composers – foremost among whom was Reis himself, who had learnt the instrument from his father, Fernando.

Songs such as Dois Destinos and Se Ela Perguntar have become standards of the Brazilian guitar tradition. Sentimental, memorable, nostalgic, Reis’s music conjures memories of bygone eras for many Brazilians. His skill as an artist lay in not only crafting the kind of melody that’s newbut instantly recognisable, but also adapting time-honoured native forms such as the choros to fit those melodies. No less ‘Brazilian’ in character than the work of Heitor Villa-Lobos, Reis’s music speaks to a worldwide audience.

For some time, the songs of Dilermando Reis were inimitably associated with his own performances preserved on record. Now, however, a new generation of guitarists outside Brazil is taking an interest in his music and making it their own. Among the most distinguished of them is Salvatore Fortunato, born in Genoa in 1990 and now a professor at the prestigious Accademia Chitarristica Castelli Romani. International recognition has included many competition successes and the 2014 Young Artist Award made by the Cattedrali Letterarie Europee in Rome. This album marks his debut on Brilliant Classics.

Dilermando Reis (1916-1977) was probably the most important and famous guitarist of Brazil. He was born in Sao Paulo but he worked most of his life in Rio de Janeiro. His many recordings and broadcasts on national radio made him a figure of national importance and a musical star.
Reis’ original compositions for guitar solo are in vintage Brazilian style, the Latin-American dance rhythms are supported by his inimitable harmonic language, expressing that typical Brazilian “Saudade”, the inexplicable sense of longing and sadness.
Italian guitarist Salvatore Fortunato (1990) is a winner of several international competitions, he regularly appears on TV and radio, and has an active career as a soloist and chamber music player.


Track list

Disk 1

  1. Dilermando Reis: Caboclinho
  2. Dilermando Reis: Alma Apaixonada
  3. Dilermando Reis: Dois destinos
  4. Dilermando Reis: Promessa
  5. Dilermando Reis: Se ela perguntar
  6. Dilermando Reis: Gente boa
  7. Dilermando Reis: Súplica
  8. Dilermando Reis: Uma valsa e dois amores
  9. Dilermando Reis: Fim de festa
  10. Dilermando Reis: Xodó da baiana
  11. Dilermando Reis: Desengano
  12. Dilermando Reis: Eterna saudade
  13. Dilermando Reis: Feitiço
  14. Dilermando Reis: Sandrinha
  15. Dilermando Reis: Sobradinho
  16. Dilermando Reis: Vê se te agrada
  17. Dilermando Reis: Tempo de criança
  18. Dilermando Reis: Ternura