Yiruma: Piano music "River Flows in You"

Yiruma: Piano music "River Flows in You"
Composer Yiruma
Artist Jeroen van Veen piano
Format 2 CD
Cat. number 95069
EAN code 5028421950693
Release December 2014

Buy online

  • Buy at Amazon

Download & streams

Other buying options

About this release

Variously described as “contemporary classical”, “minimalist” and even “New Age”, Yiruma’s gorgeously peaceful music is
impossible to classify – it is simply there to be enjoyed. The South Korean composer, born in 1978, studied in the UK and has made a name for himself in both in his native country and in Europe, regularly performing to sell‐out audiences around the
globe. Despite his definite celebrity status, his music remains resolutely simple and unpretentious; more in the style of short
pop music songs than regular solo piano pieces, the very best of it can be enjoyed on this exciting 2CD release – which includes,
among others, the hit River Flows In You, now a regular feature on wedding music albums. Jeroen van Veen, himself a prolific
composer as well as renowned pianist, fell in love with Yiruma’s music on first hearing. As he explains in his liner notes, the music’s enduring popularity is down to its simplicity for player and listener alike. Not many classical composers can boast of having millions of fans, and millions of YouTube views to boot; Yiruma, however, effortlessly bridges the gap between popular and classical, and, most of all, allows the listener to relax and unwind. Brilliant Classics is proud to offer this new recording in the same month together with a new line of vinyl LP releases. With music by Pärt, Satie, Einaudi and other renowned
minimalist composers making up the first two batches of vinyl, this exciting new development gives the listener a real
opportunity to sit down and savour music just the way it used to be appreciated.

Yiruma, born in South Korea in 1978, is a phenomenon. He was classically taught as a pianist and composer in London. In the year 2000 he released his first album of his own compositions on DECCA, which became an instant hit. Ever since he tours the world as a performer of his own works, a cult figure for a new generation of millions of music lovers. Yiruma’s compositions are beguilingly simple, instantly recognisable and enjoyable. Several of his works have become world famous, like ‘River flows in you’, nowadays a regular Wedding evergreen. His works are anatural and unique bridge between classical and pop music. Pianist and composer Jeroen van Veen fell in love with Yiruma’s music, and plays a selection of his best known works on this release.

Other information:
Recorded in 2014 at Van Veen Productions, Studio 1, Culemborg, The Netherlands.
With extensive linernotes on the composer by Jeroen van Veen.

Track list

Disk 1

  1. Chaconne
  2. Mika’s Song
  3. 27. May
  4. Spring Waltz
  5. The View From My Window
  6. Sky
  7. The Day After
  8. Fairy Tale
  9. Do You?
  10. Love Me
  11. I
  12. Wait There
  13. Passing By
  14. The Things I Really
  15. Indigo
  16. Poem
  17. Infinia
  18. Reminiscent
  19. Tears On Love
  20. Yellow Room
  21. River Flows In You
  22. One Day I Will

Disk 2

  1. Loanna
  2. Beloved
  3. Kiss The Rain
  4. Our Same World
  5. May Be
  6. Fotografia
  7. Destiny Of Love
  8. Sometimes … Someone
  9. It’s Your Day
  10. I’m Just A
  11. When The Love Falls
  12. The Moment
  13. The Scenery Begins
  14. Falling
  15. With The Wind
  16. All Myself To You
  17. Time Forgets
  18. Tears
  19. Dream
  20. Picture Me